• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

new dvd writer

leadshot

FPCH New Member
hi everyone newbie here lookin for some help,my sony dvd writer was working intermitently,it would read and burn dvds but not cds,i have replaced the dvd writer with a liteon and made this the master,and made the sony the slave.if i click on the new dvd writer it says k: is not accessable incorect function.and if i try to use the slave it says drive not found, i,m using win xp.if i go into device manager and click on the new writer it says it is working correctly it clearly isnt:mad: inthe device manager i have found two more writers? a copystar fantom dvdrom scsi cdrom device and a hf 2152p kvq242e scsi cd rom drive? if i remove these drives they just reinstall.any answers help please.
regards leadshot

W

Wolfeymole

Hi Leadshot

Welcome to FPCH

Are these 2 SCSI drives wired straight onto the board or via a card?
The way your talking about jumpers indicates the other drives are IDE so what happens when you unattach the SCSI drives completely?

leadshot

FPCH New Member
new drive