• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

new laptop with W10 and plagued with adverts

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
I have got a new laptop with W10. It replace my desktop that went bang last week. The sales person got the thing running. It is slow as well.
I have gone through the thread where it advises how to get rid of adverts but I still seem to get them 'orible things' in between playing Solitaire etc..
Should the seven things mentioned get rid of the lot?
I am of two minds to put in W7 that I have here.
jim'
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#2
You just got to love Microsoft. Not all may apply yet may help slow and prevent them. Yes they are annoying I will be doing some of these suggestions as well.

See of this helps at all How to Disable All of Windows 10’s Built-in Advertising
How to remove those nagging ads from Windows 10

I am of two minds to put in W7 that I have here.
If you are talking about installing Windows 7 on to the system then would suggest no. Would VOID any warranty and and most places that would service they system under said warranty would have to factory restore it before they will touch it.

That is if you can get they system to accept the install with having to deal with Secure Boot and Legacy setting in the UEFI

Not including if you can find the proper drives for the hardware that is installed into the system and install them in the proper order.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#3
I will try those addies that you suggested. It would be a hassle to do any other on this laptop as it has no dvd to use the w7 disk :). I was just sounding off I suppose.
Jim.
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#4
Not a problem Jim there are times that I wish they never came out with Windows 10 and or Eight.

Crossing fingers that it helps and guess I will have to dust off my Ten system and try some of them to see if it helps.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#5
I did look for a desktop but I must not buy one yet. Too much month and not enough pennies.
I do have a book on its way here - W10 for dummies/seniors :) Perhaps I can find where the control panel is and delete the crud.......:) Meantime I'll have to turn the volume down on the things my computer is forced to play.
Jim
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#6
Ever since they have created Windows 8 nothing is where is was in Windows 7 and prior. I still find myself hunting for certain things so you are not alone.

Just to confirm that you are looking for where the programs are listed so you can uninstall them correct?

On you start menu look to the far left just above the Power Button should be a cog click that.

Untitled.png

On the second Row you will see one called Apps select that

Settings.png

Which will take you to Apps and Features

Select the one off the list that you wish to Uninstall and Click on Uninstall
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#7
Thanks for your help there Rusty. I might have deleted some thing useful as I had to google myself back in to the login section. There was also some stuff that I was unable to delete, stuff that the originators want to ram down our throats - and on the news today they are considering google for our medical data.

In W10 I have found that no matter the browser/search engine if you look in the address bar google is the search engine.

I think I'll get a power supply for the desktop that went bang. I'll try resurrecting it. I just hope it took nothing else with it.
jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#8
Hmm, now I have a blue screen with the calendar and today's date on the left side and it does not open the splash screen with the short cuts. I can go to the desktop screen via windows button and X, but it has no short cuts on it.
Jim.
 
Last edited:

Starbuck

Admin & Security Team
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
4,514
Location
Midlands, UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#9
Hi Jim,

In W10 I have found that no matter the browser/search engine if you look in the address bar google is the search engine.
Changing the search default is quite easy...... what browser are you using?

Perhaps I can find where the control panel is and delete the crud....
I'm old school as well and prefer to use 'Control Panel'.
Unfortunately M$ have removed the link to it ..... but it's still accessible.

Click on the Search icon on the taskbar....
Type in Control Panel....
The main Control Panel is usually the first search found ( top of the list)
Just click on this to get to your familliar Control Panel.

Wt0vUMz.png
 
Likes: Rustys

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#10
Thanks for that Starbuck. I am not much farther forth as there seems to be a lot of HP stuff and Realtek stuff and not much that I can safely delete. Also I am distracted ATM as SWMBO needs attention at the hospital.

The power supply came today but I cannot find the time to install it.
Jim.
 

Starbuck

Admin & Security Team
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
4,514
Location
Midlands, UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#12
there seems to be a lot of HP stuff and Realtek stuff and not much that I can safely delete.
Following the information in the link that Rustys gave you will mainly require just setting changes.
Don't worry about deleting any of the HP stuff just yet.
First thing is to take care of the annoying ads that Win10 will keep throwing at you.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#13
The most annoying are those I am unable to hurry up (click the progress bar to pass them by) and there is no 'skip add' in youtube.
I am obliged to have the add like it or lump it. All I can do is reduce the volume so I do not have to listen as well.
The one that turns up most is the 'spot the dog' on you tube, that preludes another which I cannot remember ATM.

My browser is duckduckgo but if I watch the addy bar google and Bing shows there all the time.

I also use addblock and although it tells me not to use it, it does not work at all. Neither does addguard as it shows
a single digit of adverts stopped and I have experienced 30 or more. I think I have deleted addguard but it still shows
in the launch bar.

If I use a forum and a member references an online addy, if I click on that link it will always give me the page I am on - most frustrating
that.
I can't wait to get back to W7! It may turn me into an Apple fan!
Jim.
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#14
The most annoying are those I am unable to hurry up (click the progress bar to pass them by) and there is no 'skip add' in youtube. I am obliged to have the add like it or lump it.
Yes that is how Youtube make money. There are still some of the adds on Youtube that can be skipped they just seem to be few and far between.

If I use a forum and a member references an online addy, if I click on that link it will always give me the page I am on - most frustrating that.
If you click a link that is in thread it does not go there. Have you checked to make sure and see if it opened a tab with the information?
 

Starbuck

Admin & Security Team
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
4,514
Location
Midlands, UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#15
My browser is duckduckgo but if I watch the addy bar google and Bing shows there all the time.
Arrr you use the one browser that I have no knowledge of.
I have most of the main ones installed, but not that one..... will have to install it and take a look.
The best adblocker I've found is Ublock Origin ..... it's compatible with Chrome, Firefox and Edge.

The most annoying are those I am unable to hurry up (click the progress bar to pass them by) and there is no 'skip add' in youtube. I am obliged to have the add like it or lump it.
As Rustys said, that's how You Tube make their money and unfortunately there's no way around that particular type of advert.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#16
Rustys said:-If you click a link that is in a thread it does not go there. Have you checked to make sure and see if it opened a tab with the information?
Jim says:-
I have closed the page to find that I am on the same page as before I clicked. If I click close again I go back completely. It has not opened a tab
with the information.

Thanks Starbuck for the info on Ublock Origen. I will try them and see how it goes. SWMBO has her op this morning and does not want me visiting
this evening so I'll maybe have a go at installing the new power supply to the desktop. It'll take my mind off things perhaps.
Jim.
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#17
Rustys said:-If you click a link that is in a thread it does not go there. Have you checked to make sure and see if it opened a tab with the information?
Jim says:- I have closed the page to find that I am on the same page as before I clicked. If I click close again I go back completely. It has not opened a tab with the information.
Is this happening on all Forums and Browsers?
May just have to do a reset on the browser to fix it.
Is it happening on links that are like this
www.freepchelp.uk
OR
DuckDuckGo
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#18
Those two links work fine, and I am back on my laptop as well. Perhaps it is 'forum related'. The forum it happens on is model railway forum. Hmm curioser and curioser.
Jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#19
Thanks for the input Starbuck. I'll try it loose then.

The three photo's I put on this page are not shown on this W10 laptop. Yet they show on SWMBO's
Dell AIO. I assume that is because on the Dell (W7) it uses Irfanview's .Img. and it shoves another
on W10? I have put Irfanview on the desktop of this W10 laptop.

The logic used on computers is so foreign to yesterday's thinking.
Jim
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#20
Thanks for the input Starbuck. I'll try it loose then.

The three photo's I put on this page are not shown on this W10 laptop. Yet they show on SWMBO's
Dell AIO. I assume that is because on the Dell (W7) it uses Irfanview's .Img. and it shoves another
on W10? I have put Irfanview on the desktop of this W10 laptop.

The logic used on computers is so foreign to yesterday's thinking.
Jim
On which browser are you using? Are you sure that you are not talking about the other thread that there are three pictures that you did post?