• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

no sound from speakers

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#1
i have a problem i cant get sound from my speakers, it looks like the deivce drivers for my sound card (realtek ac'97) are there, and i can record sound from my mic using the sound recorder but just cant get anything from my speakers, i tried different speakers and headphones and nothing, anyone got any ideas what might be wrong.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#2
go into sound and audio devices in control panel...and make sur eit is set to use your sound card and make sur eit isnt set to mute.
kind regards
danzil
 

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#3
Danzil,
thank you for your reply. i have tried this. i can find no problem with the software at all and the soundcard is working properly. could the fault be with the actualy 3.5mm jack?
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#4
try another set of speakers and/or a pair of stereo headphones.
do you hear any sound
remeber the correct AUDIO jack is the green 3.5mm jack not blue or pink
kind regards
danzil
 

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#5
hi danzil,
yes i tried that, i did state that i tried different speakers and headphones in my original message, and, not being rude, but the jack is clearly labelled so i know i got the right one. only thing i can think of is that the actual jack itself is knackered.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#6
hi pharno sorry i didnt read the first post properly....
i take it the sound card is on board.....mmm if it is the jack it is probably gonna be cheaper to change the board then to replace the jack..unless you are good at soldering,and can get the correct jack obviously.....
uuuuum is the sound card turned on in the bios,,,,,,long shot if the mic is working but maybe worth a double check.

can you give me the make and model of motherboard please so i can take a look.
kind regards
danzil
 

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#7
hi danzil,
i have no idea if the sound card is turned on in BIOS because i have no clue when it comes to bios, but i would assume it is if the mic is working. i cant tell you what make and model the motherboardis, all i can say is that it is an emachines computer, model 2220, with an intel(R) Celron(R) 2.70GHz processor. if you can help from that info it would be greatly appriciated.
oh by the way, i recently had to reinstall windows when i upgarded the hard drive so all the information on the drive would be set to the factory settings, hope this helps a bit more. i have had the idea that if it does turn out to be the jack itself, as i have now noticed that the blue (line in) jack is not working either, it may be easier to get a new sound card, or would that cause more problems with the installed sound card being an on-board one
pharno.
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#8
Hi If it is the jack itself you can get an sound card and disable the onboard one in bios. (danzil must just correct me if i'm wrong :) ). I think that would be cheapest. And also make sure like he said its not on mute and speakers power is on. Good luck.
 

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#9
maynardvdm,
thanks for your reply, i have checked its not on mute and the speakers themselves workon other machines, so i know thats not the fault, it must be the jack itself.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#10
yes maynardvdm is correct,you can just replace the sound cad and then disable th eon board audio chip in the bios...
can you tell me have you check the front audio connection on your case,shouldbe a black door (flap) at the bottom of your blk/silver case.......
where did you get the driver from.... this is the correct driver for oyur pc http://www.e4me.com/support/product_support.html?cat=Desktops&subcat=T-Series&model=T2200 its under drivers then audio i believe.
let me know if that helps or not.
kind regards
danzil
 

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#11
hi danzil
all drivers where on the restore cd provided by emachines, as i had recent;y changed the hard drive, there is a jack on the front. and these work. so i could use them, but i wanted to sort out the ones at the back
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#12
if the ones at the front work then there isnt really an issue with drivers.
please check the on board audio header check and double check...if a cable is in the wrong position then this will screw with the back audio.
is the cable that go to the front audio sat in on block or are they indivdual...
tell you what,what case,and motherboard make do you have,,i will see if i can get a wiring diagram and then send you a pic of the correct positioning,
i will need these to correctly help you...
it is definatly a good sign that the front audio is working.
kind regards
danzil
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#14
is the audio from the front panel housed in a block or are they indivdual wires....
there is no spec really as to the case.
i ask for motherboard model,because if it has been taken in for repair before,the board may of been replaced.
i can not help anymore unfortunatly until i know about header.....i will see if i can get a motherboard diagram..
i really dont want to diagnose your machine with the wrong thing...i would like to be able to give you a 100% solid solution
i ask these questions as to the board because if it had been replace or not.you may or may not have HD audio the wiring is slightly different to the audio header then standard audio on most boards
leave it with me i will post back ASAP
regards
danzil
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#16
Hi. You must give as much info as possible. Do you mean windows does not "see" your sound card? Right click my computer click properties go to the hardware tab click device manager, see what is under the sound controllers and if there is no red x or yellow !. Give more info!
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#17
hi pharno i can not seem to get a manual for oyur board...please can you take the side of the pc of (check for warrenty stickers 1st) then send me the make of board.....and a picture of around the audio header would be a great help...

randi lou please can you start another post with your questions....it helps us not to get confused with all the different issues.thanks
regards
danzil
 

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#18
ok danzil. this will sound daft but exatly where am i looking to find the make of the motherboard etc. the computer is standard as per when it was bought brand new, only change i have made is to replace the hard drive, and the reinsatll windows, this is when i began to have problems with the sound from the back of the case. and now i am no longer able to get anything from the front audio jacks, can not record sound or anything.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
#19
mmmm....how strange....well you take the side of the case of as you did when you installed the new hard drive....
you will see the motherboard (big old circuit board)...it will say on it the model.....usually around near the memory slots,,,or between the pci slots.....
ie abit-sg2 or elitegroup z453 etc.....usually written bigger then any other writing....
the audio header will be easy to find...just follw the cables out of the front of the case..the audio header will be towards the back usually....and should say audio on it....the wires going to it should be written on also...ie mic in.mic bias,left,left return etc
wow
i hope that helps
danzil
 

pharno

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
13
#20
ah problem, i can not see where it states the make or model of the motherboard., there are some white stickers by the memory slots, with the word intel under but then the sticker is over the top. and i think i now know why i have no audio, when i was fiddling the other day, i must have removed the wires from the front audio jacks, as they are not connected. i have found the hub lablled audio config, and the wires are lablled, mic-power, mic-in and ground on one lot and the other has l-out, r-out, l-ret, r-ret and ground, and i am totally clueless as to how to wire them up. i also have another set of wires lablled vcc, +d, -d and ground, two sets one with 1 precedding the labels and the other labelled two. this may explain why my audio is not working.