• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Painfully SlooOW PC : whats up with the Regfix ?

bogeyman

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
14
#1
Hey

Im new to the forum but it's nice to know there's help out there , thanks in advance.

Here's the problem.My computer seems to be operating on a different timeline to me , it's like its working in a parrallel universe where everything is slowed down by a factor of ten.
It took me 20 minutes to register here. It;s windows xp home version thats all i know , i've got it about 4/5 years.
I did some reading up and the registry seemed a good place to start looking at it. I downloaded www.freeregistryfix.com and it zipped through "initial parameters" but when it goes to "file types" it goes about two third up and gets stuck at this.

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\ppa.ppa

(at this stage it has found 5 problems)

It sticks here and doesn't move on. ( i left it for 5 hours at one stage) Any ideas what could be causing this ? how to fix it? and is it likely to be the cause of my slooooooow PC?.

Thanks again
Bogey

BTW : Even though i've only got dial up , it's not just the internet thats slow but also the pc itself.Boot up takes about 12 minutes
 
W

Wolfeymole

#2
Have you ever had MS Office on that pc as from what I can gather that extension seems to deal with a PowerPoint add on?
 

bogeyman

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
14
#3
Wolfeymole said:
Have you ever had MS Office on that pc as from what I can gather that extension seems to deal with a PowerPoint add on?
Yeah ...i think it was on it a couple of years back. Then th PC broke and one of the IT guys in work put a (motherboard ?) from a dell in and it worked fine after that but MS Office is not still on it.......at least i dont thinks so! could it be a leftover file?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#4
I wouldn't worry about the registry, as the chances of that being the cause of the problem are pretty much zero.

The most likely culprits are a running process that is consuming most of your cpu, or a failing hard drive.

Press ctrl-alt-del to enter Task Manager. Click on the processes tab. When idle, the cpu should be between 2 and 10 percent. Post pack with any process that is taking up more than that.

If that's not the cause, then we can give you instructions on how to check your hard drive for errors.
 

bogeyman

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
14
#5
Seth said:
I wouldn't worry about the registry, as the chances of that being the cause of the problem are pretty much zero.

The most likely culprits are a running process that is consuming most of your cpu, or a failing hard drive.

Press ctrl-alt-del to enter Task Manager. Click on the processes tab. When idle, the cpu should be between 2 and 10 percent. Post pack with any process that is taking up more than that.

If that's not the cause, then we can give you instructions on how to check your hard drive for errors.
With just this site open it's jumping around from 7-10-19-30%
If i click on "show process from all users" it seems to jump up more ---32-50%
Thanks
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
Don't be concerned with the occasional spike in the cpu usage. Maximize the screen and leave "Show processes from all users" checked. Watch for processes that are consistently showing more than 10% of the cpu.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#8
The idle process just means how much of your cpu is ready for use.

That looks ok, so run hard drive error checking by going to Start>Run>type in chkdsk /r and hit ok. Note the space between the K and the /. Click Y at the black screen that appears, then restart the computer. XP will appear followed by the error checking screen. When the error checking is complete (1-3 hours), the computer will continue to load up XP.

See how that works out.
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#9
Let's get rid of some unnecessary files. Go to All Programs / Accessories / System Tools/ Disk Cleanup - delete the Temporary Internet file and the Temporary Files.

Then, get back to us.
 

bogeyman

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
14
#10
Guys

Sorry for the delay in answering. I couldn't get back in to the pc last night....it's fighting me.

I dont know what i've done wrong but when i try to "Start>Run>type in chkdsk /r " it says it cant because volume is in use by another process ?????
I tried going into safe mode and going into control panel and tried to start cleaning up the disc from in there. Now it wont start in normal mode AT ALL ...im only getting the white writing scrolling down the black screen and then it freezes....sorry guys i seem to have made my problems even worse :/
I'm in from my work pc now so at least i'll be able to keep an eye on the thread today.
Bogey
 
W

Wolfeymole

#11
The volume that is in use is C: so therefore it cannot check its self whilst active.
You should have seen the wording;
"Would you like to run Chkdsk next time you restart" y/n?
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#12
Click on START - RUN

Then type in CMD and press the Enter key

The in the DOS prompt type the following: CHKDSK C: /F
You should then see this:
The type of the file system is NTFS.
Cannot lock current drive.

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another
process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be
checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N)
Press the Y key and then the Enter key.

Then restart your computer. It should run a check disk during the next start up. If it does not then let us know.
 

bogeyman

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
14
#13
AdvancedSetup said:
Click on START - RUN

Then type in CMD and press the Enter key

The in the DOS prompt type the following: CHKDSK C: /F
You should then see this:
The type of the file system is NTFS.
Cannot lock current drive.

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another
process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be
checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N)
Press the Y key and then the Enter key.

Then restart your computer. It should run a check disk during the next start up. If it does not then let us know.
Maybe thats why it's scrolling through on the black window??????? Because i pressed Y and then each time i now switch on this happens.....But again it seems to freeze.
 

bogeyman

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
14
#17
Thanks Wolfey

I've just tried reading through that link and it looks pretty complicated.....I dont understand the jargon either so chances are i'll be back on again. The ABC of what to do would be handy just in case.
Thanks
Bogey
 

bogeyman

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
14
#19
Wolfeymole said:
Can I ascertain that you have your XP disk to hand Bogey yes?
Eeeeeerm ......Not sure WM .Do you mean the system set up disk ?. If so it's probably in the drawer at home.....I wouldnt have thrown it out.