• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

PC Freezes before Bios can be accessed - can anyone help

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#1
Hi, I'm new to this Forum but am having serious problems with my PC so thought would see if anyone could help out.

Basically my PC freezes after initialising the processor on startup:

GeForce 6100SM-M V1.0A 10/16/2006
Main Processor : AM Athlon (tm) K2 Dual Core Processor 4200+

Usually it would then run through a list of the drives etc before loading up XP but it freezes after this one line. The Keyboard cant be used and the BIOS not accessed so am a bit stuck.
The PC itself is only 9months old, its a AMD 4200 Dual Core, 2GB DDR2 Ram. I've read that it may be the PSU (even though its seemingly ok to fire up the computer), also maybe the CPU or RAM.
I've changed the RAM Modules around, tried it with just one etc, cleaned out all the dust and ensured all fans are working but still the issue remains. I've never had a problem with it before, its just all of a sudden.
If there was any thing anyone could advise or if anyones had the same problem it would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance

Andy
 
W

Wolfeymole

#2
Hi Andy

Welcome to Free PC Help


Usually it would then run through a list of the drives etc before loading up XP but it freezes after this one line. The Keyboard cant be used and the BIOS not accessed so am a bit stuck.
So the POST (Power on Self Test) screen shows but then what?
It just freezes and nothing more can be done?
Can you get into Safe Mode at all by tapping F8 continuously on boot up?

It sounds to me, like you suggest, that the PSU is on it's way out but please provide more info.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#3
I would try the following in this order:

1) Unhook any unneeded peripherals (especially USB devices) and try to start up again.

2) If you're using a USB keyboard, try a standard PS2 keyboard and see if you can get into the bios and restore the defaults. If not, the bios can be restored by this method:

http://www.simcreator.com/forums/in...374dfc4e036586a7a3&showtopic=14&st=0&#entry17

3) At this point, it's a matter of swapping out devices to find the culprit. If you have onboard video, then remove your video card and try the onboard or a different video card.

See how that works out.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
217
Location
Cheshire UK
#4
You need to get into the bios first, just to confirm the system passes post.

Try clearing the bios, there should be a jumper on the motherboard. If you cant find it, just unplug from the mains and remove the batt. for 30 mins.

If you still cant get into the bios, unplug all the cdroms + hard disks from the board.

Failing all that, remove all the pci cards from the system you dont need to post.

Let us know how you get on.

Dave

Hold on, whats this distinguished member stuff, I only have a couple of gray hairs <grin>

Hi Seth, we both posted at the same time.
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#5
and posted similar advice which I agree with as well.

You need to isolate out all the other peripherals that might be causing an issue.

Though a bit odd if it stops at the CPU string, I'm betting that a BIOS reset is going to be needed.

Did you play with the BIOS and attempt some type of overclocking or other changes recently?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
No worries Dave. Good reminder for me on the battery, as for most users that is easier than the jumper method.
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#7
Hi guys,

Thanks very much for the advice, much appreciated. With only having access to the internet at work at the moment I've had to wait until now to check the forum. I disconected all the drives at the weekend, again unplugged the psu and cleaned down. I also replaced the thermal paste on the heat sink but all to no avail. It still stops in exactly the same place, all I can see is the:

GeForce 6100SM-M V1.0A 10/16/2006
Main Processor : AM Athlon (tm) K2 Dual Core Processor 4200+

and then nothing. I can hear the disks spinning and the CD-ROM lights up and makes a noise but even after disconnecting that and trying again it still remains.

I'll try taking out the battery on the Motherboard (and leaving it for 30mins) and attempt the F8 to get into the BIOS. The keyboard I'm using is a wireless one with ps2 connection but have also tried my old usb one in attempt to get in but no lights even show up on load up, it doesnt even get that far. . Failing that I'll try changing the PSU and other hardware parts. I hadnt actually altered anything on the system interms of BIOS etc, I've just been using it as normal.

Will changing the BIOS affect anything on my c:\? At the moment I'm convinced that eveything I had on it in terms of important documents/photos etc are still ok but whilst attempting to resolve the issue I dont want to accidently corrupt the hard disk. I have an old c:\ from an old PC that I could use but this has not been used with the current PC.

Will let you know how I get on this evening and thanks again :)

Cheers, Andy
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
217
Location
Cheshire UK
#8
Dont worry, clearing the bios wont hurt your hard drive.

Do you have a standard ps2 keyboard, wireless is useless for fault finding and not all motherboards support usb in the bios.

Dave
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#9
Am afraid not at the moment, only a USB wired Keyboard and the PS2 Wireless. I can however get hold of one temporarily later in the week if that may help, will see how I get on this evening as I wasn't able to get any further last night due to work commitments. Turned on the machine and left it for 30mins this morning in the hope that it was an update related issue but no luck!

I also emailed a local repairer yesterday but at over £50 an hour I'm more than willing to try anything and everything before it comes to that!
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#10
Tried to clear the BIOS by removing the battery for half an hour then rebooting. Unfortunately now I can't even get a message on screen, the computer has one long beep then two shorter beeps on startup but does nothing and no display can be seen.

Anyone know what these beeps could mean?

Thanks, Andy
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#11
The beep code is an indication that something is wrong. To decipher the code, you need to know the manufacturer of the board. It might be RAM or the video card. If there are more than one stick of RAM, you can try removing one or the other and see if it starts. Is the video card built in or is it in an expansion slot? If it's in an expansion slot, you can try substituting another card.

Check out http://www.sysopt.com/features/mboard/article.php/3549966
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#12
Hi all, firstly thanks for your help regards my last issue, the problem was infact a faulty onboard graphics card and so the motherboard has been replaced by the company from which the pc was bought.