• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

pc having trouble booting up

BB3

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
5
#1
Hi, I hope someone can help with this prob. PC boots up, shows gigabyte motherboard page then asks if want to start win normally or in safe mode of from last known config. once selected (I have tried all options) the windows xp starts to load then quick flash of blue screen and then it starts from beginning again.
Blue screen is noth there long enough to read error code. I have tried Xpress Recovery2 cd that comes with motherboard but no change. Any help is much appreciated.

BB3
 

JEBWrench

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
309
Location
Aperture Science
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Media Center Edition
#2
I have moved this post to the appropriate tech forum.

As far as the actual problem, I'm sure we can find a solution, as I am personally not sure.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#6
i would try tapping f8 at system startup and choosing the option "disable system restart on error" (ccant remember exact wording sorry). when the quick blue screen happens it will stay on your screen you will receive an error code.post that error code back to us,
these error codes can help pin point what is causing your issues. and may even be something qiute simple.
i just say this because if you are doing a repair instll and there is an issue with your memory, you may end up back at square one again...but obviously may not.cant say for sure with out that error code.
regards
danzil
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#7
Before attemtpting the repair install, I would try running hard drive error checking. Boot to the cd and choose R for the Recovery Console. Just hit enter if you're asked for a password. At the command prompt type in chkdsk /r (space between the K and /). Upon completion, type exit and remove the cd at reboot.
 

BB3

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
5
#8
i would try tapping f8 at system startup and choosing the option "disable system restart on error" (ccant remember exact wording sorry). when the quick blue screen happens it will stay on your screen you will receive an error code.post that error code back to us,
these error codes can help pin point what is causing your issues. and may even be something qiute simple.
i just say this because if you are doing a repair instll and there is an issue with your memory, you may end up back at square one again...but obviously may not.cant say for sure with out that error code.
regards
danzil
thx 4 advice danzil. f8 isn't doing anything?!
is it def the f8 key?
BB3
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#9
If you're using a USB and/or wireless keyboard, there is a very good chance the keyboard won't work until XP begins to load.

Do you have a regular PS2 (round connector) keyboard to try?

Also note, that most XP start up menus will not have the option to disable the restart on errors.
 

BB3

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
5
#10
thx 4 advice danzil. f8 isn't doing anything?!
is it def the f8 key?
BB3
the blue screen says UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME

tech info: STOP: 0x000000ED (0x867838A8, 0xC000014F, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

anyone know how I can sort this prob pls, thx 4 ur help;);)
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#11
the blue screen says UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME

tech info: STOP: 0x000000ED (0x867838A8, 0xC000014F, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

anyone know how I can sort this prob pls, thx 4 ur help;);)
Unmountable Boot Volume means that the hard drive has errors. That's why I was trying to get you to run hard drive error checking. Proceed with the chkdsk /r, but in most cases that error means the hard drive is failing.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#12
the experience i have had with unmountable boot volumes, usually the file system is corrupt.
try booting from the xp cd, then pressing r when prompted to boot into the recovery console, when in there at the prompt type in chkdsk /r. once this has finished reboot and see if the issue is still there
if so a repir install of xp is advisable.
the error also can be your bios forcing udma to get round this replace the ide cable with an 80 pin instead of the 40 pin.(this is unlikely though if the pc is a factory built pc).
regards
dan
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#13
the experience i have had with unmountable boot volumes, usually the file system is corrupt.
try booting from the xp cd, then pressing r when prompted to boot into the recovery console, when in there at the prompt type in chkdsk /r. once this has finished reboot and see if the issue is still there
if so a repir install of xp is advisable.
the error also can be your bios forcing udma to get round this replace the ide cable with an 80 pin instead of the 40 pin.(this is unlikely though if the pc is a factory built pc).
regards
dan
sorry seth didnt see your post.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#14
the experience i have had with unmountable boot volumes, usually the file system is corrupt.
try booting from the xp cd, then pressing r when prompted to boot into the recovery console, when in there at the prompt type in chkdsk /r. once this has finished reboot and see if the issue is still there
if so a repir install of xp is advisable.
the error also can be your bios forcing udma to get round this replace the ide cable with an 80 pin instead of the 40 pin.(this is unlikely though if the pc is a factory built pc).
regards
dan
Hi Dan.

I actually posted all of that:)

Out of a few dozen Unmountable Boot Volumes I've repaired, I've never seen one being caused by a 40 pin IDE.

If the chksdk /r fails, I wouldn't risk any more damage to the drive by running a repair install. I would slave the drive and back up the important data, then run the chkdsk on the drive, as chkdsk has a better success rate on a slaved drive.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#15
Out of a few dozen Unmountable Boot Volumes I've repaired, I've never seen one being caused by a 40 pin IDE.

yeah i have had it on at least 5 drives, out of roughly 20 i have dealt with.have a look at this seth http://support.microsoft.com/kb/297185.
i agree slave the drive for recovery....i have never had a drive fail on me when there has been an unmountable boot volume,,,,i have had 100% success with a reapir install then cloning the drive to a new one.
i may just be lucky.
regards
danzil
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#16
yeah i have had it on at least 5 drives, out of roughly 20 i have dealt with.have a look at this seth http://support.microsoft.com/kb/297185.

Thanks Dan. I've seen that article before. I've always used chkdsk /r to repair the problem, then cloned the drive. It's interesting that you have had so many caused by a 40 pin considering a UDMA board would come standard with an 80 pin. Beats me though, as I've done about a hundred and even more online, and have yet to see it being caused by a 40 pin. Although on many occasions I've seen the 40 pin error post message.

I agree slave the drive for recovery....i have never had a drive fail on me when there has been an unmountable boot volume,,,,i have had 100% success with a reapir install then cloning the drive to a new one.

I'm curious why you run the repair before cloning? The reason I ask is, the chkdsk /r almost always will repair the NTFS damage, plus the repair install would just add more stress to the drive.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#17
All drives i work on are cloned, and an image taken for safety, i deal with some big companys that would not be to happy if i lost there data

if it is a hard drive that is sound.meaning no freezing clicking clunking physical ****age.i try the chkdsk if still no joy i do a repair install...sometimes vice versa.
if the drive is noticably loud noisy etc like i say i dont try repair installs.i just try the chksdk as you say if that still fails.i do a byte for byte clone to a new drive then repair.
i hope that clears that up...sorry if my explanation was a little misleading.trying to eat dinner and type with one hand isnt easy lol :)
regards
danzil
 
Last edited:

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#19
A long time ago, I would just repair the file structure for the UBV error, but I got tired of call backs from my customers within a few days that "It's doing the same thing again". Since then, I repair the drive if possible by any means, clone it, and install the new drive.

If a chkdsk /r from the RC shows Unrecoverable Errors or locks up, then I'll slave the drive and attempt the chkdsk again. Whether or not it fails at that point, I'll clone the drive with the option to ignore bad sectors. If needed (not often), then I'll run the repair install on the new drive.
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#20
One good reason to CLONE before repair
(when you suspect that the drive is failing, not just as a matter of course)

CHKDSK can on occasion misinterpret and actually cross link files which would make recovery at that point futile. Note I've only seen this happen on drives that are presenting failure codes or errors in event viewer of impending doom. Often also noted by failure to access certain folders or files.

As for the listed KB article don't forget that one of the causes is listed as:
The file system is damaged and cannot be mounted.
I've found that to be the cause most of the time and not the cable.

We actually get that error a lot out on the production floor where the computers are subject to very abusive elements and power glitches. Running CHKDSK /C from an UltimateBoot CD in almost all cases repairs the drive error. It is not always due to a drive failure but other outside operations that can impact the drive integrity. Once in a while though it is due to an actual drive failure.

So normally I run CHKDSK /C but you could just run CHKDSK alone with no switches to see what it thinks is wrong and then decide for sure if you want to actually run the repair or clone the drive first.