• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Pc keeps restarting.

Penabby

FPCH Member
Hello all, this is my first post.

Im not very technical minded so please be gentle with pc talk ;)

My pc keeps restarting, theres no time frame to this, its completely random, sometimes it restarts 3 times in a row and other times I can stay on my pc for hours.

My pc is about 2 years old and at about 6 months I had to reformat because it wasnt loading up windows for some reason, the reinstalation seemed to fix it.

I originally thought from something I read on a forum somewhere that it was my power supply not being enough to power my graphics card.... my Power supply is 450 and Gforce 6500 graphics card, but not sure its that now.

Its very touchy, I put a book on the top of my tower the other day and this made it restart.

Also a couple of weeks ago when it restarted it wouldnt boot up to windows and wasnt seeing my hard drive but after fiddling with leads it started again.

I keep the side off lately and keep the fans free from dust so I dont think its overheating.

A few times after restarting it has done an automatic check disk saying my Hard drive was unstable and found a couple of files that it has fixed, I dont remember what files they were.