• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

PC shutdown but Is still on?

Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
19
#1
I was playing Battlefield 2 and all of a sudden my screen goes dark. at first i thought the power had gone out again (livening in CA,USA, or power grid is not really good) But my screen power button was still green and stayed green, its suppost to go orange when the pc shuts off. Then i realized the power in my room was still on and my G15 keyboard on laser mouse was still lite up. the only thing that look off was my tower. no fans were running, and the front 2 LED lights were off. then about 2 min later the tower hums back to life (lights and all) and my screen goes right back to Battlefield 2. and about 10 secs later, the game crashes and vista tells me my hardware maybe over heating. Now, this PC is almost brand new. only 6 months old. this is the first and only time this has happened. Can anybody tell me what happened, its in the shop right now being looked at but the guy at the shop said he never heared of a pc doing this?
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#2
i would try updating your graphics card driver,may help.and also run memtest to check your ram...download it from http://hcidesign.com/memtest/download.html.
what wattage is you psu...have you checked for any dirt and dust,,,also what versoin of direct x do you have...start>run type in dxdiag note down the version and post ya findings back
regards
danzil
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
19
#3
Its DX 9 (tho vista supports DX10) and i cleaned out my pc about a month before this. shoot it will the air hose and shotvac. I know it didn't over heat, my temp showed it was running at 90F when it happened. And i just got i back today, guy at the shop said nothing looked wrong but since my pc got a warrenty, i got a new motherboard for about 5 buck (USA money)

PSU: 450 watt
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#4
ok cool.
is the issue still there.
i take it your card supports direct x 10, try updating to that,,,the newer vista games reqiure this now....
and 450 watt is ok,if it is running a lot more hardware.
regards
danzil
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#6
ok now its back from the shop,is htis issue still there,,,has the engineer given yo any idea what it could be as yet
regards
danzil
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
19
#7
no, it hasn't happen again and the guy at the shop think it may of been the mobo (motherboard) or cpu, so he gave me a a new mobo and cpu (same make as the last cpu and mobo) since i have a year of full coverage on this. Its hasn't done it again, but if it does, what should i do?
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#10
yeah well you have your warrenty on the replacement board as standard,so if it happens again they wil have to repair it.....not sure of there terms but usually 30 days on labour and 1 year on parts.
regards
danzil