• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

PC won't boot - the only sound is from the fan on the graphics card

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#1
Where to begin?

This has been a bit of nightmare for me - new PC with lots of goodies, but it keeps crapping out after a few weeks of operation.

This is all the stuff in the system:

3xWestern Digital 500GB Caviar SE16 SATA II 300 7200rpm 16MB cache Hard Disk Drive
Coolermaster PSU Real Power Pro 520 520W
OCZ 2GB Kit (2x1024) Gold Edition Memory DDR3 1066MHz PC3-8500 CL 7-7-7-21 Dual Channel Gold Layered XTC Heatspreader
XFX GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI
LG GGC-H20L Blu-Ray & HD Combi drive Black SATA Retail (Blu-Ray & HD player - DVD rewriter)
Microsoft Wireless Entertainment Desktop 7000 USB - Silver
Coolermaster CM Stacker 832 Black midi tower case full aluminium
Asus motherboard P5E3 LGA775 Intel X38 DDR3 ATX
Intel CPU Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 95W Energy Efficient 2.4GHz SLACR G0 Stepping


I am running Vista Ulimate and the disks are set up in a raid array.

The problem: the system seems to lock up and then will not reboot. The only sound from the machine is the fan on graphics card whizzing about at top speeds. There is nothing on the monitor and I can not manage to get into the start up/bios menus.

The friend who originally helped me choose the components and helped me build it, corrected the problem before by flashing the bios. For someone like me, that is a scary propsect.

What can I do? What should I do?

Thanks in advance.
 

ONY

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
190
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
PC Experience
Some Experience
#2
Hiya and Welcome to Free PC Help Crusty.
Please be patient and someone will be along to assist you. :)
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
#3
Hi Crusty.

When the lockup occurs, touch the cpu and video card heatsink. Are they hot to the touch?

Does that motherboard have onboard video? If so, remove the graphics card and use the onboard video for a while.
 

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#4
Hello, Seth!

Thanks for the reply.

The cpu and video card heat sinks are not hot to the touch. I completely removed the graphics card and nothing happened. I am assuming the motherboard has on board video as it does have on board 5.1 sound.

Frustrating, as you can imagine. What else can I try?
 

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#6
Hi, JEBWrench.

Did as you said and still the same symptoms - the hard disks sound like they are beginning to kick over and boot but then stop. The only sound is from the graphics card fan.
 

WyrdL!ght

FPCH New Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1
#7
Maybe RAM

I have had a similar problem resolved the first time by removing and reseating / replacing the 4 sticks of 1GB RAM in my computer. When the computer eventually failed - no display, none of the usual sounds of the boot drive being accessed and just the noise of the video card fan the computer shop diagnosed a faulty stick of RAM and replaced it - problems solved! Maybe relevant?
 

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#8
Thanks, Wrydlight.

I've got two one gig sticks of ddr3, is it possible that they are both defective?

As mentioned above, I took out each and replaced singly in turn, but still the same situation.

Could it be that simple? What are the chances of getting two bad sticks of ram in one go?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
#11
Your motherboard doesn't have onboard video. I also confirmed that the ram you have is compatable. Can you please confirm the motherboard model by looking at the board? Note that it may have a version number as well. Also confirm the ram specs please.

Unfortunately at this point, there isn't a whole lot you can do other than swapping out parts to find the problem.

Try disconnecting all extra devices from the board that don't require the board to power up. For example, all drives, mouse, keyboard, printer, etc. Does it fire up now?

If that doesn't work, consult the motherboard's manual to reset the cmos (program on the mobo)
 
Last edited:

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#13
searching . . .

That is the motherboard you posted the picture of. However, I am not sure which number exactly on the motherboard is the model number - there are a few different ones.

As for the RAM, it is as listed at the start of the thread. There is an obvious sticker on the side of the stick that confirms it, ;)

I have tried to start it with out anything attached to it. There is no printer, or anything like that. It still will not work.

As for the CMOS stuff, I am going to have to pinch my nose and hold my breath because that is where I start getting in over my head.
 

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#15
Hope this isn't a double post . .

Hmm . . thought I repsonded, but my post doesn't show.

Anyway, It is the straight up P5E3 board. The user's guide says so. :)
 

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#18
The power supply must be okay as all the fans in the box are operating, including the one on the cpu.

I'm beginning to wonder what £1,500 worth of cumputer hardware is going to sound like when it crashes to the pavement below.:mad:
 

JEBWrench

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
309
Location
Aperture Science
PC Experience
#19
Ah, alright. I didn't think all the fans were going.

And sometimes that can be a satisfying sound.... Another good option is through a glass panel located in a wall. Or as my father calls it "reinstalling Windows" ;)
 

Crusty

FPCH Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
10
Location
Lancashire
#20
A twist in the tale . . .

I spoke to some of the techies at work today and they suggested that I pull out the mother board battery and put in a new one. Well, I have done exactly that and now the **** thing has started right up.

I had to go back into the bios and configure it for raid, so I hope that everything will be fine after that. And after everythings got so desperate last night that I did the unthinkable and consulted the ASUS motherboard manual, let's hope it keeps working.

Anyway, watch this space. I'll definitely be making a contribution to your cause.

Thanks, Fellas! (for now . . )