• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Problems with Internet Explorer

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
8
#1
Hi there,

i have somehow managed to change a setting on my pc so that i cannot type anything into the toolbar on internet explorer it just says 'Application not found' i can however go into google by setting it as my default but when i try to click on certain links within a website it says the same error message.

I cannot download anything so i have been unable to download Internet Explorer again, if anyone could help i would be most grateful :)
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#2
ok.
do you have an original xp cd to hand or can you obtain one......
you could try the cmd line repair but you WILL need your xp cd to hand
go to start>run then type in (without the qoutes) rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132 %windir%\Inf\ie.inf
this will try a repair install of internet explorer using the ie inf stored when internet explorer is installed...
give that a try first.
post back so i know how oyu are getting on.
regards
danzil
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#3
antoher thing is try system restore
start>all programs>accessories>system tools>system restore.
choose a date before this happened then restore to that point
regards
danzil
 
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
8
#4
Thanks Danzil i will give it a go now...i've tried system restore in the past but will try again as probably did something wrong!
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#8
lol wow that sucks.
uuum can you go into the internet explorer settings and set them all back to default...tools>intenet options>advanced
can you boro a friends cd.
i will see if i can find the files ie reqiures to re-install then i will try my upmost to get tehm to you...should be able to zip them and email them to you.
regards
danzil...
will try in a couple of hours..my kids are due home from holiday so i will be spending a littlw time with them
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#11
sorry rebecca i am gonna have to send you that email tomorrow.....my kids are driving us crazy 2nite not sleeping....sorry..
promise 2moro
regards
danzil.....
just the instructions take the longest..
please email me again so i know i have your address.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#12
typing troubles...the email and instructions have been sent to you.....please post back with the outcome...if it works i will post the process here for others to see.
 
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
8
#13
Hi Danzil, i couldnt open the file you sent but i copied internet explorer to a cd from my other pc as you suggested, when i reinstalled it the problem had been fixed. thanks so much! :)
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#14
wahey thats excellent well done on your fix.
glad to hear all is well.
score 1 for danzil lol.
regards
danzil
 

Luke

FPCH New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
2
#15
i brought my computer in norway and live here but only speak english when i load programs or go on some web sites it is in norwegian how can i show my computer as english not norwegian
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#16
if the web page is written in norwgian then know you can tyoe the web site name in google,and google will try its best to translate it..
if not your language settings are wrong...go to start>control panel>regional language options.make sure htey are correct..
please also open another post for your own question,,,this is classed as hijacking and is usually frowned on...
regards
danzil
open anew post and i will help my upmost to fix your probs,thanks luke