• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Re Installing WIndows XP without CD?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spartan73

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
148
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#1
Hi Guys, I have an old Dell PC given to me a friend. The Hard Drive isnt That great on it, and feel it could do with a larger one. Its a small desktop thing, and I doubt there is a slot for a second HDD ( although i may be wrong ) however, I feel it needs a fresh start anyhow....

There is a valid CD Key on the side, but I do not have the original installation disc. If i was to "find" a OEM disc which was a XP PRO SP2 could i use this, and the CD Key on my machine? Or will there be conflicts?

Thanks for your help! ( again )

Spart :D
 
W

Wolfeymole

#2
For an OEM CD to work it would have to be the one for the exact make and series of the Dell computer. You can't use a Latitude one on a different make for instance. The series would matter too.

If you can find the "exact" one then the key would work as that computer has a valid license for a OEM install. The key will not work for any other version of OEM. If it had XP versus XP Pro then that would be an issue too.

If your friend files for a change of ownership with Dell then you could obtain one from them if they are still in stock. Once the supply is gone Microsoft will not allow them to make any more.
 

Spartan73

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
148
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#3
For an OEM CD to work it would have to be the one for the exact make and series of the Dell computer. You can't use a Latitude one on a different make for instance. The series would matter too.

If you can find the "exact" one then the key would work as that computer as a valid license for a OEM install. The key will not work for any other version of OEM. If it had XP versus XP Pro then that would be an issue too.

If your friend files for a change of ownership with Dell then you could obtain one from them if they are still in stock. Once the supply is gone Microsoft will not allow them to make any more.

Thanks mate

The sticker on the machine says XP Proffesional 1 - 2CPU
In system properties Says is MS WIN XP PRO Version 2002 SP 2

SO if i "found" an OEM with the XP Pro SP2 - DO you think it would work? ( or do i have to dig deeper for a version 2002 ? )

I will try obtaining a CD via Dell, but as the machine is quite old, and going by what you say, this may not be an option for me.

What are Dell owners supposed to do in the event of a reformat? Strange.

Thanks loads again Wolfey

:D
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#4
Dell's come shipped with a Dell XP CD. You should be able to obtain one from Dell for a few dollars.

The hard drive may still be ok, but just clogged up with junk. As such, you may also be able to restore it to factory condition if the Dell has a recovery partition on the hard drive. What's the model number of the Dell?
 

Spartan73

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
148
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#5
Dell's come shipped with a Dell XP CD. You should be able to obtain one from Dell for a few dollars.

The hard drive may still be ok, but just clogged up with junk. As such, you may also be able to restore it to factory condition if the Dell has a recovery partition on the hard drive. What's the model number of the Dell?
Its a Dell Optiplex GX260 Seth

where and how do i find this partition if its there?

:) I'll give them a call too.
 

Spartan73

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
148
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#6
Dell's come shipped with a Dell XP CD. You should be able to obtain one from Dell for a few dollars.

The hard drive may still be ok, but just clogged up with junk. As such, you may also be able to restore it to factory condition if the Dell has a recovery partition on the hard drive. What's the model number of the Dell?
Ps its a 40 GB HDD - far too small, as I am building a CCTV system with it.
I Have practically uninstalled everyithing I didnt need on it, ran ATF, SAS, MB and ESET. which found a LOT of rubbish. I then Did a disk cleanup and Defrag, and now the machine is pretty clean and fast, however, due to the age, and that fact that i need a 500GB + HDD, I figured to just start fresh as opposed to adding a slave drive.... What are your thoughts?

:)
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#7
To restore the operating system using Dell PC Restore, perform the following steps:

  1. Back up personal data files.
    Notice: PC Restore by Symantec erases all the data (files, folders, programs, and drivers) from the hard disk drive. All personal data stored on the hard disk drive will be removed during the PC Restore process. For more information about how to back up data, see Dell Knowledge Base Article: "What is Backup?" Article ID: 327362
  2. If a modem or network cable is plugged into the computer, disconnect it.
  3. Turn on the computer.
  4. When the Dell splash screen appears during the computer startup process, press the <Ctrl> and <F11> keys at the same time. Press the keys one time only. Pressing the keys more than once may cause a keyboard error. If this does occur, turn off the computer and repeat steps 3 and 4.
  5. In the Dell PC Restore by Symantec window, click Restore.
  6. When a warning message appears stating that all data will be lost, click Confirm.The Progress window appears and the restore process begins. Dell PC Restore by Symantec usually takes only 8 to 10 minutes to finish.

    The following message appears when the restore process is complete:
    The system recovery process was successful

  7. Click Finish. The computer restarts.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#8
SO if i "found" an OEM with the XP Pro SP2 - DO you think it would work? ( or do i have to dig deeper for a version 2002 ? )
An oem cd won't allow you to enter your key while installing. You would have to use the original Dell Cd.
 

Spartan73

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
148
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#9
To restore the operating system using Dell PC Restore, perform the following steps:

  1. Back up personal data files.
    Notice: PC Restore by Symantec erases all the data (files, folders, programs, and drivers) from the hard disk drive. All personal data stored on the hard disk drive will be removed during the PC Restore process. For more information about how to back up data, see Dell Knowledge Base Article: "What is Backup?" Article ID: 327362
  2. If a modem or network cable is plugged into the computer, disconnect it.
  3. Turn on the computer.
  4. When the Dell splash screen appears during the computer startup process, press the <Ctrl> and <F11> keys at the same time. Press the keys one time only. Pressing the keys more than once may cause a keyboard error. If this does occur, turn off the computer and repeat steps 3 and 4.
  5. In the Dell PC Restore by Symantec window, click Restore.
  6. When a warning message appears stating that all data will be lost, click Confirm.The Progress window appears and the restore process begins. Dell PC Restore by Symantec usually takes only 8 to 10 minutes to finish.

    The following message appears when the restore process is complete:
    The system recovery process was successful

  7. Click Finish. The computer restarts.
I know I'm pushing my luck now.... but i have to ask...

From the restore, would I be able to install evrything to a different HDD ( as a slave in the machine? ) ?

:rolleyes:
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#10
You're not pushing your luck. That's what we're here for.

The Restore will deploy to the primary drive, but most third party applications will allow you to install on the slave.
 

Spartan73

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
148
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#11
You're not pushing your luck. That's what we're here for.

The Restore will deploy to the primary drive, but most third party applications will allow you to install on the slave.

Thank you :)
 

Spartan73

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
148
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#12
You're not pushing your luck. That's what we're here for.

The Restore will deploy to the primary drive, but most third party applications will allow you to install on the slave.
Ok Now I really AM Pushing My luck, lol.... I have another question similar on this topic but I fear I may be pushing the boat out somewhat asking this.... :rolleyes:

I just bought a Genuine Copy of XP Home on ebay all sealed with CD Key.
Gonna install it on another machine I'm building ( work CCTV thing ) in my old P4 machine.

A Friend " suggested " that i MAY be able to install this on a secondary machine, and get updates, as the very nice people in Microsoft usually let 1 or 3 go. LOL

Is this the case?

:rolleyes:

( if they ban me for this,....it was emotional..... )
 
W

Wolfeymole

#15
On another forum that I know of, Administrators will routinely close threads which they feel have reached the point where there can be no more related posts added.
I strongly disagree with this principle but on this very rare occasion I do feel that this particular thread has reached the end of the road.

Therefore it is closed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.