• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Red boxes

anntodd

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi

I am new to this so please be gentle with me. I have used vista and internet explora with Virgin for a long time but since christmas eve I have noticed that instead of some adverts displaying I just get a red box. This is stopping me playing games in Yahoo as I cannot insert the password as the red box is there.

Also my pc is asking me to sign on in all my favourite sites I visit instead of remembering me.

I hope someone understands me and can help

Many thanks
Ann
 

BeeCeeBee

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Hi Ann,

What are the security settings on your IE7 (I assume you are using 7)

Just go to tools then internet options and click on the security tab.

You should be set for "Internet" with a security level at medium- high.

If your setting is for trusted sites or restricted sites this may account for your problems.
 

anntodd

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks for the speedy reply but my settings are medium high.

Any other suggestions?

Ann
 

BeeCeeBee

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
If you look right over the taskbar there should be a little icon of a globe and the word internet. Assuming it is there then take a look at this from our friends at Microsoft.
Pictures are not displayed on Web sites in Internet Explorer

I would pay particular attention to methods 3 and 4 under resolution but try them all if they fail to resolve the issue.
 
Last edited:

anntodd

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
A big THANK YOU

Problem solved It was caused by the ad blocker being switched on in pc guard security.

Can you now tell me how to make my pc remember my logins so I dont have to log in my favourite sites all the time.

Ann
x x x x x x x x x x
 

BeeCeeBee

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
You are quite welcome!

If you go back into tools and internet options you will see the content tab.
Click on settings and make sure the 1st and 3rd boxes (forms if you want) are ticked.

You may have lost some previous log in information but this should cover you for repeat visits.
 

anntodd

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thank you so much I will recommend this site to all my friends and I will try and make a donation when I can

Ann
x x
 
Top Bottom