• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Restoring an old XP Computer

HulkHogan

New member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi

I have discovered my old 'e-machines 420' PC in my loft from about 15 years ago. I suspect there may be some old pictures or documents of use on there so I want to get it useable, therefore I would like to know what more I need to do/obtain to make this happen. The spec is:

Windows XP Home Edition
2.6Ghz Intel Celeron Processor
80GB Hard Drive
256 mb DDR

So far I have:

Plugged an ethernet cable from the unit into a Virgin Wi-Fi Booster (is flashing at back of unit)
Connected the power lead
Connected lead to a monitor (no display)

I assume I will need to upgrade some parts within the processor, but if someone could point me in the right direction it would be appreciated. Let me know if any more info is needed.

Thanks in advance
 

HulkHogan

New member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Apologies I should have clarified - I don't necessarily want to use this machine for the future, I just want to access the media that is on it & potentially transfer to another device/memory card etc
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi - and welcome to FpcH

Sorry for the late response.

You don't need to get the machine up and running again to get your data off the hard drive.
If you are happy to - go inside the case and take the hard drive out.

You can then use a hard drive enclosure and connect it to another working computer.
You treat this as you would a memory stick.

This assumes that there is nothing wrong with the old hard drive itself.

I can give you further help if needed.
 

HulkHogan

New member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi - and welcome to FpcH

Sorry for the late response.

You don't need to get the machine up and running again to get your data off the hard drive.
If you are happy to - go inside the case and take the hard drive out.

You can then use a hard drive enclosure and connect it to another working computer.
You treat this as you would a memory stick.

This assumes that there is nothing wrong with the old hard drive itself.

I can give you further help if needed.

Hi KenB

Many thanks for your response. Last week I brought the processor into a local repair shop. They took out the HD in order to view & transfer the files however they advised me all files were corrupt. They said its possible to send it away for a full forensic check & file transfer but this may cost a minimum of £350.

It's not a matter of life & death.....more mild curiosity to see if there's any photos of my kids or late father. But I wouldn't want to pay that just for the chance but with no guarantees.

I don't think there's any other options now unless you know better? I wouldn't be able to connect to another PC as I don't have the right leads.
 

Starbuck

Admin & Security Team
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Location
Midlands, UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
The easiest way to use a hard drive as an external drive is to remove the hard drive from the PC and put it into an external hard drive enclosure.


I suspect this is what KenB was talking about.
This is one way that you could check if everything was corrupt or not.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi again,

I have been away for the last week so sorry [again] for the late reply.

You 420 machine is a desktop / tower type - is this correct?

Do you still have the hard-drive out of the machine?

=============
For the tech to tell you that all of the files are corrupt he must have been able to access the drive.
If this is the case then it may well be possible to retreive some of your data.

You would need to buy a means of connecting the drive to another machine.
If it is a desktop [ not laptop ] machine then the drive will be 3.5 inch.
[ laptops are 2.5 inch]

There is some free software that is available.
Your tech may already have tried this.

Let us know what you want to do.

By the way - he wasn't trying to con you by quoting £350+
This is the price of specialist recovery services.
 
Top Bottom