• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Router Security Problem

Quacker

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
173
Location
Gateshead, County Durham - north east England
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#1
This is going to sound a silly question - certainly naive!

How can I tell my router or network connection is "secure" in that no-one can use it or "piggy back" onto it?

Recently I was using an internet radio and when it searched for networks, it found a couple of my neighbours (I recognised the names) - it also found my own - Belkin 54g (I think) - I knew this as it was the strongest signal.

Now of my neighbours signals, 3 of them showed a padlock against them and only mine and one other neighbours didn't.

Does this mean mine is open to the world (or at least the locals) and if so, how can I check and password protect it? Please note it was a pal who set it up and not myself after some unforseen problems.

Steve
 

DirtyPolo

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
705
Location
West Midlands
PC Experience
Operating System
#2
Hey steve,
Yes I'm afraid this does mean that anyone that can get signal to your router, will be able to connect to your internet.

We can certainly advise you on how secure your wireless, but for that we will need some more info, such as the make/model of your wireless router.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
8,985
Location
Wirral UK
#5
Your router should have a model number similar to F5D7230-4 which would identify the manual needed. This number should be on a label attached to the router.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,098
Location
Stockport near Manchester
PC Experience
Elite PC Guru
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
Your router should have a model number similar to F5D7230-4 which would identify the manual needed. This number should be on a label attached to the router.

Just to add to this - there is normally a sticker on the underside of the router with the model number and it should also have the homepage address and sometimes a password and username
 

Quacker

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
173
Location
Gateshead, County Durham - north east England
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#8
Belkin login.....

192.168.2.1

User Admin

Password - there isn't one.
How do I locate this and how do I add one Tootech? - also, is there anyway of knowing if someone is trying to logon or use the connection.

I seem to recall recently a message on the screen request a connection? - but I ignored it and clicked no!

Edit: - what I'm asking is how can I check to see if protected and if not how do I add a password.

Cheers
 
Last edited:

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#9
Bring up a browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, whatever). Where you usually type in a URL like www.freepchelp.com.uk, type this in 192.168.2.1 as Tootech indicated.

You should get the log in screen for your Belking wireless router. As Tootech noted, enter Admin in the user field and leave the password field blank.

That should let you into the router. From there, look for something like Wireless - that's where you set up the security.
 

Quacker

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
173
Location
Gateshead, County Durham - north east England
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#10
God am I having a bad day/weekend!! - is there anyway I can now reverse this? - the security has sort of backfired! I now have internet access on only one computer. The 2nd computer and laptop have no access and the internet radio doesn't work either.

It appears I can change the password but not remove it.

I thought that when any of the other sources tried to log on I would be prompted for the password - but this never happened. I thought I'd be asked to input the PSK (pre-shared key) for any device to enable them to log onto the network. Either that or I am not understanding how these things work:confused:

Help!
 

Quacker

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
173
Location
Gateshead, County Durham - north east England
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#12
Can anyone else offer any further assistance with this?

At present I have up to 7 users using my connection (all local). When I attempt to add WPA or any type of security, I lose connection on a laptop, 2nd PC and internet radio.

None of them ask for a key or indeed ask for anything - they just point blank refuse to go online or "see" any connection. It is only when I return the device to security disabled that things begin to work again. Unfortunately they work for the neighbourhood as well.

Is it possible it has been set up incorrectly? has anyone alse suffered similar? - I'm feverishly googling looking for this problem but finding lots of people having problems setting up passwords, but not this specific one.

I've tried several times and re-read all info given to date on above threads:(

Steve
 

Tootech

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
1,618
#13
You need to be connected to the router with a cable whilst you carry out the changes.

When I attempt to add WPA or any type of security, I lose connection on a laptop, 2nd PC and internet radio.
That is what should happen - now your network is secure, your original settings on your wireless devices are defunct.

Use one PC and connect it to your router with an ethernet cable.

Log in to your router and navigate to your wireless settings.

Change the wireless security to WPA ( it may say WPA-PSK), and if there is an option for WPA, use TKIP.

Set a passphrase - it must be 8 characters or more. Save the settings and reboot your router.

Now, only PC's connected with a cable with be able to connect to the Internet.

You need to go back to all the PC's/ devices that connect wirelessly and connect them up with the new security settings.

So, say your laptop needs to connect, double click the Wireless Networking icon in your system tray on the right hand side (thats assuming its XP).

Click View Wireless Networks.

You should be able to see your network name, and described as Security Enabled.

Select that network, and click Connect.

You will be asked for the wireless key - type it in, and then again in the second box underneath.

Your lappy should now connect up.
 

Match

Free PC Help Tech Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2009
Messages
740
#14
Hi Quacker have a read of this, It uses a linksys router but I'm sure you can work round that.
How to guide on the Microsoft soft site

I also found these instructions but not being familiar with the Belkin 56g router I can't say if they work or are any good :eek:

Access point configuration

1) Open a Web Browser

2) In the address bar type the IP address of your access point.
Note. By default the IP address is 192.168.2.1

3) Click on Security in the left hand column under Wireless

4) Enter your password if any and click Submit

5) Select WPA-PSK (no server) from the Security Mode section

6) Enter your Pre-shared Key
Note: You can mask your Pre-shared Key by selecting Obscure PSK

7) Click on Apply Changes

Network adapter configuration

1) Go to Start and click on Control Panel.

2) Control Panel window will appear. Double click on Network Connections.

3) Network Connections window will appear. Right click correct Wireless Network Connection by identifying correct wireless network adapter and click View Available Wireless Networks.

4) Wireless Network Connection window will appear. Select the network you wish to connect and click Connect.

5) The should now be security-enabled.

6) Enter the WPA-PSK network key you set up in the router as above.

7) If all goes well, you will connect to wireless network at last.
 

Quacker

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
173
Location
Gateshead, County Durham - north east England
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#15
Thanks both. I'm in from work and shattered. after 3.15am when I gave up trying. I tried all sorts. I'm sure I am missing something obvious. I will re-read these instructions when not so tired ;)

At present I have the main PC online, my laptop is also online and my Internet Radio also seems to be working ok.

The only thing not working is the Desktop downstairs. Not only that but it is not even showing anywhere to right-click. I suspect it is a poor dongle and combination of old-style USB ports (No 2.0) - a new PC is on order though.

So

3 out of 4 ain't bad - but not good enough. I tried so many combinations lat night/early hours I have just checked my settings. Currently, 192.168.2.2 192.168.2.3 and 192.168.2.3 are all showing on my DHCP Client list - and nobody else appears to be listed there or "piggybacking" at this time, I have refreshed a couple of times.

However, this is puzzling too as a look at the security settings is showing disabled. Yet nobody is logged on - including the required downstairs PC. A secondary problem is there is nowhere to see a list of available networks whenever I try to set any protection - right clicking does not bring this stuff up.

I'm more confused than ever. I have spent hours googling and everything looks and seems so straightforward, yet doesn't seem to work. I even had a lengthy session on the phone with an IT guy trying to talk me through it. I'm amazed the person who originally set it up never asked if I wanted to protect the network:confused:

Anyway, thanks for help and looking. I'll give it a rest and look later.

Can you please confirm that there IS always meant to be a wire connection between main PC and Router at all times? - the 2nd PC and laptop have dongles and the Internet Radio is wireless.

If that makes sense?

If not sorry, I'm shattered lol.

Sorry for the lengthy ramble.:eek:
 

Match

Free PC Help Tech Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2009
Messages
740
#16
Can you please confirm that there IS always meant to be a wire connection between main PC and Router at all times? - the 2nd PC and laptop have dongles and the Internet Radio is wireless.
to set the router up initially you will need to have a wired connection, but once the router is set then you should be able to connect everything wireless. and the pc that you wired you can unplug and then connect wireless as well.
 

Quacker

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
173
Location
Gateshead, County Durham - north east England
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#17
the pc that you wired you can unplug and then connect wireless as well.
Is that done via a dongle or something? - at present it is still via ENET cable.

Ok to update this. I have now got it done - at least most of it - Hurrah!

I have the Desktop connected upstairs and both the wifi internet radio and downstairs desktop have been fed the pass key so I have 3 items connected.

Can anyone offer any suggestions to the 4th - my laptop. It is still not seeing any network so I cannot input the pass key. On the desktop downstairs I searched available networks and clicked on my own and added the pass key - on the laptop it is not even aware a connection is available - unless I disable all security then it connects even though it still shows no networks on its search.

I'm not overly bothered as I am getting a netbook and the lappy will be used for pictures etc. and not connected, I am very intrigued as to why it can't connect though. Indeed I suspect it may not even be a router problem.

Any thoughts?
 

Tootech

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
1,618
#18
What is the make and model of the 4th - the laptop?

It may be that the wireless card is switched off on that machine.
 

Quacker

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
173
Location
Gateshead, County Durham - north east England
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#19
What is the make and model of the 4th - the laptop?

It may be that the wireless card is switched off on that machine.
It's a Compaq 2114EA - and you're probably right - not sure how the card could have been switched off, but I reckon it has. I'll have a play and see what happens.