• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Samsung 931cw monitor (Solved)

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I've just got my pc back from pc world having had a power issue 'fixed'. Put it all back together, but the monitor remains in standby mode. Checked all cables and rebooted several times. Pressed the source button and pressed keyboard key, but no use. Hopefully you guys are quicker than the know how guys at pc world...😰😰😰
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi and welcome to Free PC Help.
Two things to try if you can, first is to try a different monitor, or try the monitor on a different computer.

Whatever the power issue was on the computer, just might have damaged the monitor, so you need to be able to try those suggestions to rule out either the computer, or the monitor.

Edit to add, DSTM posted at the same time, try that page he mentions first.

Nev.
 

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
Thanks guys.... I sent my pc in as it kept crashing and failed to boot regularly. I was told by pc world that the problem was my power supply as I'd fitted a new graphics card and it wasn't coping. The monitor was working fine and I'm pretty sure it's not the monitor at fault. When I detach either cable (digital or analogue) it does what it should and tells me the cables aren't attached. Miffed!
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi, our usual policy regarding warranty situations, which this seems now to be, if you are fairly sure the monitor is working OK, it must be the computer and I suggest taking it back along with the monitor as their work hasn't produced a working computer. My suspicion being that somehow the graphics card is no longer working.
They should have tested everything and made sure it was working before returning it to you.

Nev.
 

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
Thanks Nev, I think you may be right. I have moved the analogue (blue) connector to a spare one half way up the back of the unit and it now works. Obviously not connected to the video card....don't understand how that works, but might tell you something? As a trumpet player, love your profile pic
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
PC Experience
Some Experience
Are the drivers installed for the new Video card?
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
DSTM has a very good point, I am a lot suspicious of PC world and their so called technicians, I am just wondering if they disabled the card instead of fitting a new and bigger power supply.
The paperwork, bill and receipt should be itemised as to what they are supposed to have done. If they have installed a newer and bigger power supply, it should all be there on the paperwork. If they haven't and as I suspect disabled the card by removing the drivers, there will not be a power supply listed.

Let us know please, also was the repair bill more or less than £50, as that will give us a good clue as to what they have done.

Nev.
 

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
I had to reset to factory settings before I sent it off, to try and resolve the problem I was having. Pc world billed me the normal £50 plus 35 for a new pore supply. I tried installing the drivers from the installation disc that came with it, but got an error message saying please install VGA cards of asus.
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi, for once it looks like they did their part of the job right with a new power supply.
So, did you fit the graphics card or someone else as it should have come with a disk for its own drivers, do you have that disk?
If not can you give us the full make and model numbers of the graphics card so we can find a download site for you.

Nev.
 

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
Sorry for late response, been away from internet..... I bought and installed the card about 18 months ago and used the provided installation disc. It worked fine up until I got it back from pc world (still waiting for them to get back to me!!!) when I insert the disc and try to run set up it stops with an error message, saying please install VGA cards of asus
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
PC Experience
Some Experience
You keep saying Graphics card. What graphics card did you fit?
 

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
It's an Asus graphics card.....trying to find the model
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
PC Experience
Some Experience
Download "free Speccy" and post a screen shot. That will give us the information we need.

https://www.piriform.com/speccy/download

My guess you haven't uninstalled possibly corrupted drivers and you are attempting to install fresh drivers on top which won't work.
That can give you the error you are getting.
 

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
Thanks, I'll try that after the 120 windows updates install :/
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
PC Experience
Some Experience
Why so many updates? Have you changed your operating system from Windows Vista?
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
PC Experience
Some Experience
No, Windows is not detecting the card. Either the card is dead or cable or bent or broken pins where the DVI cable connects to the monitor and graphics card.
Please check very carefully. Failing that you will have to either try another Graphics card or get this Graphics card tested at a computer shop.
Remove the card, clean the contacts and re seat the card.
 

Dknapton

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2014
PC Experience
Beginner
Thanks for your time DSTM, much appreciated. I'll take it out and have a look, but surely PC world should fix it, as it worked before it went to them?
 
Top Bottom