• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Sata to IDE convertor Issue / Motherboard replacement

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#1
Hi all,

I posted a problem on here early last month following an issue with my pc freezing -which turned out to be a faulty on board graphics card as people had suggested. The motherboard has since been replaced by the company responsible for putting the pc together...unfortunately this is not the end of the road with regards getting the pc back up and running....

..typically I hadnt backed up the main c:\ of the pc for a few months. The c:\ obviously now needs re-configuring to the new motherboard (AS-ROCK VSTA) but in doing so I dont want to lose everything I've stored on there previously. If I can get the old programs to continue to work as before that would be a bonus!

I've tried simply plugging in and booting using the c:\ in the hope that it will automatically reconfigure itself and run as normal...which came back with a list of errors regarding the windows configuration. I have read however that using the XP discs I can reinstall windows over the old version and everything else (data/program wise) should remain as it was...but I have also read where this has led to the complete reformat of the c:\

In order to combat any potential loss I powered up my old P4 pc and attempted to connect the c:\ off my newer pc as a slave via an IDE-SATA converter, backup all files from there onto my old pc, so that if it reformats then at least I have all the data/files etc. However this too is causing a problem. The older PC motherboard only has IDE connectors as far as I can tell so I pruchased the SATA-IDE converter. The old P4 now pops up with an "unknown device " message for the additional SATA drive, will proceed to boot up as normal but the extra drive can not be seen or accessed in windows. I'm assuming this is something to do with the jumper settings etc? But I cant be sure. Also, I obviously still want to boot off the original old c:\ (which is set to master) but with the secondary converted IDE-SATA drive having no jumper settings I cant set this as a slave.

If anyone could advise, either on the attempts to reconfigure windows on my c:\ with the new motherboard without losing all original files, or on the problem with the IDE/SATA converter using my old PC and getting the SATA c:\ to act as a slave to back up my data I'd be extremely grateful!! Thanks in advance for any help :)....and also for those who helped me out last time!
 
W

Wolfeymole

#2
Ok Pidgeon, here's what's happening.
Windows thinks your trying to pirate XP
We know your not of course but all the parameters of your old hardware from the P4 are stored on that old hdd.
When you try to install it to a new system with different hardware you will have immediate system conflicts.
This is one of Microsoft's attempts to combat piracy.

This is what I'd do ok

Obtain a cheap ata hard drive and wire it up to your old P4 as a slave.
Re attach the old drive with the data on and copy all your stuff on the slave drive.
Forget about windows.

Install the old drive into your new system or the one with the new board.
Format it
Get on the phone to microsoft and tell them you have obtained new hardware and you want to reinstall windows, they should then say ok when you come to reactivate.

Afterwards attach the cheap drive as a slave in the new pc, copy your stuff back and use it as a back up drive.
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#3
Thanks for that. I've just looked at re-installing windows and have read its possible for Microsoft to give it the thumbs up. The problem however is getting all my old data off my drive. I think I've managed to confuse everyone with what I've written above.

Currently I have:

PC1 (which has had its motherboard replaced)
SATA 250 GB c:\ - configured to the motherboard that failed

PC2 (old P4 that has been garaged for ages) this is currently working ok
IDE 160 GB c:\

What I've done is bought a SATA-IDE converter so I can take the 250GB, currently configured to the PC1 failed motherboard, and connect this as a slave to PC2. Then I can take off the files I want to keep, then reinstall my Windows XP over the 250GB Sata on PC1 with the new board.

PC2 will then have copies of all my backed up data and I can then transfer back PC1 (via external HD) and I'll have my PC1 back to full strength.

The issue I'm having is using the 250GB c:\ off PC1 as a slave in PC2. I'm using a IDE-SATA converter to link it to the motherboard but it says "unknown device" on booting up. Therefore I'm unable to get the data off it before re-installing windows on it. Do you know what the issue with this could be?

Cheers, Andy
 
W

Wolfeymole

#6
Ok so how are you hooking the drive to the board, which I'm presuming has IDE connectors?
You said this was the old P4 board yes?

You need a sata to ide, yours is ide to sata.
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#7
yeah this it to hook up to the P4 board, from one of the old Dell series pc's. The one I've got plugs into the second ide channel on the board then can attach the SATA drive to it. It lights up fine, my drive's spinning, it just says "unknown device" and then the pc runs as normal. I thought it may be to do with the jumper settings or something. Or maybe I've been sold a dud and you're right, it will only go from IDE to Sata though it claims to go both ways?!
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
#8
Since the motherboard is designed for Pata, you'll need a driver for the Sata drive. That can be found on the drives's manufacturer site.

Did the adapter come with any sort of driver?

Also, if you've got a new board and are trying to run a hard drive with XP already on it, then in most cases you'll need to run a repair install of XP....which has no effect on your programs or personal files.
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#9
Great thanks. The component didnt come with a driver unfortuantely but I'll try downloading a driver for the drive this eve and hopefully that will solve it.

If that doesnt work I think I'll just proceed with the repair install anyway. It has already got a legitimate windows on the hardrive, I was just concerned that it might reformat the drive during the repair install (which some people have claimed has happened).

Thanks again for both of your help and time, its much appreciated. Will let you know how I get on tomorrow
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
#10
If the adapter didn't come with some sort of generic SATA driver, then yes, you would go to the hard drive's manufactures site for the driver.

I've done hundreds of XP repair installs, and recommended just as many (if not more) for online users. Never once have I seen data loss, as a repair install doesn't have anything to do with your personal programs and files:



How do you perform a reinstallation of Windows XP, sometimes called a repair installation?

Configure your computer to start from the CD-ROM drive. For more information about how to do this, refer to your computer's documentation or contact your computer manufacturer. Then insert your Windows XP Setup CD, and restart your computer.

When the Press any key to boot from CD message is displayed on your screen, press a key to start your computer from the Windows XP CD.

Press ENTER when you see the message To setup Windows XP now, and then press ENTER displayed on the Welcome to Setup screen.

Do not choose the option to press R to use the Recovery Console.

In the Windows XP Licensing Agreement, press F8 to agree to the license agreement.

Make sure that your current installation of Windows XP is selected in the box, and then press R to repair Windows XP.

Follow the instructions on the screen to complete Setup. All updates will need to be reinstalled.
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#11
thanks for all your help, tried the repair installation and everything seemed to go ok. Computer seems a little slow for some reason (lost a RAM module due to breakage) but the remaining 1GB module is only comming up at 898MB? I also noticed that the although the speed of the module is stated as 667Mhz, its max is set to 330? Think I'll have to investigate further. At least its back in operation though so thanks for your comments.

Cheers, Andy
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
#12
You're welcome Andy.

The "lost" ram is what is allocated to your video card. The speed of the ram can be adjusted up to its allowed maximum through the BIOS (Setup). As a second thought, some new ram sticks are designed to work in pairs and will result in half speed if used independently.

Watch the screen as you turn on the computer for the key to press to enter the BIOS. You can make the video and ram changes accordingly. Be sure to save the changes before exiting.
 

Pigeongk

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
15
#13
Ok cool, will check the BIOS settings, though didnt realise some sticks are designed to work in pairs. In the process of ordering another module now (maybe two as they seem to be so cheap these days) and finding out about the differences between buffered and non buffered as I go. There seems to be a choice at every step of updating/repairing the PC!!