• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

screen ratios

NeilH

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Location
Neath
PC Experience
Some Experience
I have a Zoostorm 7010-0006/E tower PC running Windows 10 which is connected to a Dell 19in E193FP monitor, both quite old but operating perfectly. The monitor only has a VGA input but the PC has VGA and DVI-D outputs. The Dell screen dimensions are 15in by 12in which I assume is a 5:4 ratio. I would like to upgrade the monitor to 24in HD IPS widescreen but I'm confused by the subject of screen ratios. Will a 16:9 ratio give me an unnaturally distorted or "stretched" image? I use the PC mainly for basic web browsing and the occasional Youtube video.


Many thanks,

NeilH
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Neil and welcome to FpcH

Sorry for the slow response - we are normally a little quicker than this :(

Below is a link to your present monitor's data sheet [ just for information ]

If you are buying a new monitor and the resolution setting is 16:9 you will have to ensure that the video card on your computer is set to the same [ 1920 x 1080 ] or 16:9

Right click on a blank part of the desktop and select "Display Settings" from the list.
You will see something like this:
1602323075441.png
If your resolution setting is different from mine [ 1920x1080] use the down-arrow to check if 1920x1080 is available.
If it is then you are good to go with the new monitor.

With your PC graphics output set to 1280x1040 you would lose the width on the new monitor [broad black edges ]
1602325926645.png
 
Last edited:

NeilH

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Location
Neath
PC Experience
Some Experience
thanks,
My card doesn't have the 1920x1080 option so does this mean I need a new card?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Neil,
I had my doubts when you said that it was an old PC.
I couldn't even find the specs for it.

Which options do you have re. Resolution?
 

NeilH

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Location
Neath
PC Experience
Some Experience
It is an old PC!! Options are:
1280x1024 (current setting)
1280x960
1280x800
1280x768
1280x720
1280x600
1152x864
1024x768
800x600
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Neil,

You have your resolution set to the highest available setting.

You could try updating the drivers for your graphics card to see if you get any better options.

Click in the Search Box [ bottom left of screen ]
Type - devmgmt.msc - and hit Enter
This will take you to Device Manager

Click the > next to Display Adaptors
You will see something like this:

1602343993303.png

Right click on the Graphics Card [ mine is Intel(R) UHD ...]
Then click on "Update Driver"
Select "Search Automatically"
You will need an internet connection.

If there is a newer driver found this will automatically be updated.

Let me know what is listed for your Display Adapter
 

NeilH

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Location
Neath
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi,
The Display Adapter just says "Intel(R) HD Graphics", tried updating drivers but nothing available.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi try this:

Download the Intel Driver and Support Assistant software from here :

It will identify your Graphics Card - and if there is an update for it and let you download the update.

It will also identify other Intel devices - you can ignore these if you want.
 
Last edited:

NeilH

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Location
Neath
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi,
Tried updating drivers from the support assistant, unfortunately no good - resolution options are still the same so perhaps a new graphics card?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
.......perhaps a new graphics card?
If you want to get the best out of a new HD Monitor I think this is the sensible route to take.

With your machine being "older" you will need to check what type of slot you have availale.
The newer Graphics cards use PCIe x16
Older motherboards may only offer AGP slots.
AGP slots are often brown in colour - but it is the contacts that ultimately determine what type of slot.

1602426425240.png

1602426861851.png

AGP has been phased out and you may find it difficult to find a card if this is your only option.

You are not gaming so you are only interested in the resolution that the card will support.
You do, however, need to match the card with the slot that you have available.

I hope this helps?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Let me know if you need any more explanation :)
 

NeilH

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2020
Location
Neath
PC Experience
Some Experience
One more thing - I have a feeling that the card is integrated in the motherboard so what are my options if that is the case?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Neil

Sorry for the slow response - I have only just seen your post ???
If the card is integrated then you may well have a slot on the motherboard that you can use.
Unplug from the wall - take the side panel off and take a look.

[ refer to the images I provided above ]
 
Top Bottom