• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

[Solved] Bang and spark at the end of the kettle plug type lead

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
Yesterday the computer failed following the bang mentioned above. Initially I thought it was just the lead shorting out until I used another lead. It did the same thing! The flash and the bang came from the same area, the power supply and the end of the lead. Upon dismantling there was nothing to indicate that the power supply had caused the burning/smell. The leads were hot and the switch on the extension plug burnt out-it would not work. No one carries them in stock around here and I am obliged to use SWMBO's AIO Dell.
Jim.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,267
Location
Wirral UK
#2
Hi,
If it has happened twice then DO NOT attempt to use this machine.

There is obviously a serious fault which would need to be looked at by a qualified tech / electrician.
Please DO NOT attempt to repair this yourself.

You could replace the PSU - which is most probably the cause - but DO NOT attempt to open up the PSU.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#3
Thanks for the reply KenB. I did open the power supply but did not stick any digits inside as I know what capacitors are like. The computer is a few years old and has W7 as it's OS. I think I am ready to go new. I am unsure what is best
these days. Using the phone I found they charge £40.00 for them. I can get them online for something close to half of that.

The big prices seem to be in the gaming world, I am only in the domestic desktop. Amazon seems to have a lot of refurbished Dells. Is there a favourite place to buy and places to avoid?
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,267
Location
Wirral UK
#4
Hi Jim,
I don't have a favourite place to buy from - in fact it is some time since I bought my last machine.

It sounds as if you are looking at buying a re-furbished one.
If you are looking at eBay then be careful who you use.
Look at their % and anything below, say, 95% I wouldn't bother.
Also check out the country of origin.

Amazon is now simply a market place.
You could set yourself up as a company and sell there.
So again, be careful if you intend buying from them.
Remember not all reviews are genuine.

Google is a great source of information.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#5
Ok KenB, thanks for that. I'll drop down to Eastbourne and see what the shops are like there. Locally there is nothing, nowt. Zada!
Jim (SWMBO says that I am like a fish out of water without my PC)
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#7
I got a laptop with W10 and a solid state drive. The trouble is I cannot get past the email section and it is stuck there, no matter what keys I press.
I've even tried rebooting and rebooting whilst holding the windows key down - nothing but that dreaded google password screen.
Jim.
PS I have tried the alt ctrl del buttons also!
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#8
The trouble is I cannot get past the email section and it is stuck there
Just to clarify if this is during the registration of the system?
OR
Are you trying to configure you email address in windows so you can check you email?

What if any error messages come up?
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#9
It has talked me through set-up and then begins to link my mail addy with the computer. The password I have forgotten, I must have changed it at some point.
It will not change from that screen, no matter what buttons are pushed. Talk about frustrating!
Jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#11
Have a good holiday KenB, I'm on permanent holls here :).
Hello Rusty, is this page ok or do you want to change it?
Jim.
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
141
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#12
I will leave you in Rusty's capable hands as I am off on holiday for a few weeks :)
:behindsofa:

The password I have forgotten, I must have changed it at some point.
It will not change from that screen, no matter what buttons are pushed. Talk about frustrating!
If you have access to another system you could attempt a password reset then see if you can get past it using the new password. Fully understand the frustration part.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#13
I have tried to install the new power supply but I am left with three leads floating. I am unsure where they fit.
There seems to be no receptors in the computer for them. One is the power connecter for the mother board.
It is square and has four leads coming away from it, two yellow and a red lead and a black lead. There seems
to be no connecter of that shape left inside. I should have made a note where they came from on the computer
but me being me I was most annoyed and took it out on pulling the thing to pieces.
I suppose a photo might help. I do not know how it works with this thing so I'll have to fire up SWMBO's machine.
Jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#14
I'm now on SWMBO's computer so I hope to get the photo's onto the forum (if I can remember how :) ).
jim.

4 plugs.jpg 4 plugs 2.jpg 4 plug 3.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#15
Oh dear! I've made a mess of that. I'd have done better on the old machine that I'm used too.
I can retake them if its not clear :(.
Jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#17
Thanks for that. The long four pinned drive plug is a spare disk drive I think. It is the four pinned square shaped one that has me foxed as it is marked with the 12v heavy current
supply apparently to the motherboard. There is one on the old power supply but I can't remember where it was plugged. The text says it is the motherboard
supply but I cannot see where unless it is half of the eight pinned slot.
Jim.
 

Starbuck

Admin & Security Team
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
4,514
Location
Midlands, UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#18
I have tried to install the new power supply but I am left with three leads floating. I am unsure where they fit.
Don't worry about any extra leads.
Power supplies always come with more leads than you normally need.
It's because power supplies will fit multiple types of computer.
I just tie them up with a cable tie and tuck them out of the way.
 
Likes: Rustys

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
793
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
#19
I have just got back to the desktop with the new power supply fitted and there is no life in it at all. The fans are not turning and nothing is lighting up (the fuse has been seen to in the plug). I think the four plug lead listed in the blurb as the mother board supply needs to go into the eight pin plug (it is the right size and shape) and did have a similar plug on the one I took out - If only I had taken a photo before I disconnected it.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,267
Location
Wirral UK
#20
Hi Jim

The shorting out [ initial post ] could have taken out your motherboard.
OR - the new Power supply could be dead.

Do you have a volt-meter to test the output of the new power supply ?
 
Likes: Rustys