• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

[Solved] I have been fiddling with W10

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
I want a digital timer on my PC and wifey (with the same computer) says that I can do it. Now I only get the headlines and images - no comment boxes below. I do get an annoying text screen in Japanese as soon as I switch on though. I have gone through the uninstall list in control panel but with no luck. What have I done?
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
What have you installed Jim ? link to where you downloaded it ?

Can you provide screen shots / or take an image with Snipping Tool ?
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Clipboard01.jpg
I hope this is what is needed KenB. It would not take a screen dump of the control panel. I got that from the app store - it was my first effort so that has to be considered :).
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim

In the search box - bottom left of screen - type .... add remove ......hit Enter
Scroll down until you find the software that you installed
Click on it and you should get an option to "Uninstall"
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks for coming back KenB. I am unable to distinguish between the one I got from the app store and others so that does not work here.
I have managed a screen dump of the control panel and realised that the date of installing it would help - hence the highlighted edge, although I think it maybe an update/tack on. It does not give me the option to delete it in control panel though, Is there another way?
Jim.
A BTW is that my hearing aids can be blue toothed to W10 :). A win-win :)
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Sorry, forgot the image........it's getting worse.
1668293547169.png
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim
It won't be anything to do with Edge.
This is an integral part of Win10 and can't be uninstalled.

Your original post was on Friday 11th.

Look in "Downloads" to see if what you installed is there.

Is there an icon that you have to click on to open the "timer" ?
If so - can you provide an image?

press CTRL + ALT + DEL all together
Click on "Task Manager" ......then "Startup"
Can you see anything there that looks like what you installed ?
Can you provide an image of the Startup list ?
 
Last edited:

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks for trying to unravel this KenB.
The lettering is Japanese or Chinese (apologies to the wronged one) and that is the only clue.
There is nothing in my downloads past the 8th month - which puzzles me as I am always fiddling and down loading. What ever it was I feel sure it was the app store.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Jim - I asked if you could look in "Start-up" ...CTRL + ALT + Del
See my previous post
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Mmmm, sorry about that. I went off to look at downloads as that is something I understand. I find I am easily distracted these days and memory is not firing on all cylinders either.
On trying the ctrl+alt+del buttons I get a blue background and four things down the screen. Lock, switch user, sign out and task manager.
To get the start up list I used to type something in the BLHC. I've forgotten what it was. Wasn't it in W7 anyway?
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
From post #7

press CTRL + ALT + DEL all together
Click on "Task Manager" ......then "Startup"
Can you see anything there that looks like what you installed ?
Can you provide an image of the Startup list ?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
That's "Processes" Jim - Startup is here ....
1668984942334.png

Click on this and see if you recognise what you have installed.
If not - post an image - or images if they don't fit on one sceen.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks KenB. You got me there eventually. I had to do it second time to get a screen shot.
1669101760074.png
It was the wuhan app. I disabled that and tested it by restarting the computer as that is when it shows up. It is gone and I have learnt something - but I'm sure it won't stick :). Thank you KenB.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim

There is nothing in your Startup other than what I have indicated below ....
1669112675903.png

This is from Wuhan, China.
It is showing as "Disabled" so shouldn't show on startup.
[I don't have it on my system.
Do you still get the unwanted timer when you boot up ?

Go back to Add / Uninstall [ see post #6 ]
Scroll down - Is there anything with "Wuhan Net Power ,," as the publisher ?
 
Last edited:

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi KenB. I think you missed my message a bit. I said that wuhain was the problem because disabling it got rid of the start up splash screen. so you have solved that one, thanks very much. Little wonder it could not be read by me as it was in Chinese.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
I think you missed my message a bit
Sorry Jim - I did miss that line at the bottom of your post :)

Glad you got it sorted.

If you look at the end of my last post - you may be able to delete it from Add / remove :)
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
He he, so I missed a bit as well. I should have connected the dots because of the oriental writing :). Hmm, thanks anyway.
Jim.
 
Top Bottom