• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

[Solved] Monitor not working

Mokles

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
140
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
Hi,

A couple of months ago I posted a thread about my lost internet connection after thunderstorms, I also mentioned that my monitor wasn't working. The monitor problem seemed to have been resolved at the time, but since then if ever I've shut the pc down completely I've had problems getting the monitor going again usually pressing F8 on boot up has worked, however, this time it hasn't. Any suggestions?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,233
Location
Wirral UK
#2
Hi Mokles,

You say that the monitor isn't working.
Presumably the screen stays blank ?

Are you sure that it is the monitor and not the PC itself?
Have you tried a different monitor ?

You say pressing F8 invariably works.
You must get something on the monitor screen when you do this ?
Can you give a fuller explanation please?

Which option do you select from the Startup Options Menu ? [ after you press F8 ]
 
Last edited:

Mokles

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
140
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
#3
Hi Ken

When I switch the power on the name of the monitor comes on and the blue light which shows it's on does too, but then it just goes to orange again and the screen stays blank.

Nothing happens now when i press F8.

I don't have another monitor that I can try it with.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,233
Location
Wirral UK
#4
I've had problems getting the monitor going again usually pressing F8 on boot up has worked,
What did you used to select from F8 options?

....... the name of the monitor comes on .......
This would seem to indicate that the monitor is actually OK

Try unplugging the video cable from both ends and plug back in.
Check the pins to see if any are bent or broken.


Do you get POST beeps?
One beep is normal.
A sequence of beeps indicates a problem.
You will only get beeps if you used to get one single beep.

Can you hear M$oft Chimes? In other words the system has booted up but no picture.

If none of the above.....
Can you hear the Hard Drive spinning?
 

Mokles

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
140
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
#5
I've unplugged the video cable - pins look ok, but when i've plugged it back in nothing's happening with the monitor when i switch it on now.

Not sure what the POST beeps are or sound like, but there's no beeping.

No, there's no microsoft chimes.

I think the hard drive's spinning.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,233
Location
Wirral UK
#6
Are you happy to go inside the case ?
If so .........

Switch off at the wall.
Leave the plug in to maintain the earth connection.

Take the side panel off.
Locate the Video card.
The video cable will be attached to it.

Unplug the cable. [ This assumes a video card - some systems have a chip soldered to the motherboard ]
The Video card will be held in by single screw. [ remove this carefully ]
Try booting up without the card. - Any beeps / error messages on screen?
Clean the copper contacts with a pencil eraser.
Replace the Video Card and cable.

You can leave the the side panel off. [ be careful ]
Test the system again.

If no go .......
Locate the RAM.
If you have two Modules just remove one.
Test again.

No go ?
Replace the RAM module and remove the other.
[This assumes that you have 2 modules ]

If only one module remove this
Test.

Let me know the results.

Any questions - just ask :)
 
Last edited:

Mokles

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
140
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
#7
Thanks, but I don't think I'm up to that.

I think I'll give the computer shop in town a call.:unsure:
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,233
Location
Wirral UK
#8
You could try the monitor on a different machine.
This would confirm that it is ok.
 

Mokles

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
140
Location
UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
#10
Good news - as I was unplugging everything in preparation to take it to the pc shop tomorrow the power cable dropped out of the monitor, so I put it back in and decided to give it one last go and hey presto! it's up and running. I don't know if it was just loose or it's coincidence. Maybe when I was checking the video cable and moving the monitor about it worked loose and that was why there were no lights showing. I know that should have been one of the first things I checked but anyway it all started normally without me having to press the F8 so I'll see how it goes now.
Thanks Ken for all your help. :)