• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

[Solved] Need Help to determine what's wrong with c.p.u

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
I got this system from A friend he knew something was wrong , and let me have it .
The cpu is an intel i5 4 cores overclockable At 3.30 MHz .
I reseated the heat sink/Fan and I've tried different hard drive's and gpu's that I know are good still this problem It wont hold on long enough to clean install windows it won't boot in safe mode ,and no sort of repair disk will work. please help https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zsv65h2S1tg
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi and welcome to FpcH

The video was locking up - but I got the drift as to the problem.
Basically you get the option of "Repair" or "Boot Normally" then it goes to a black screen with flashing curser ............is this correct?

CPU problems are few and far between.
You say that you re-seated the heatsink and fan.
1. Did you clean off the old thermal paste with an alcohol-based cleaner ?

2. Did you apply a very thin layer of new thermal paste ?

3. Do you have an external enclosure that you can put the hard drive in to connect up to another system ?

4. Does the system beep ( POST beeps ) when you switch on ?
If so - how many and what sequence ?

5. Do you get any error messages ?
 

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
yeah i get a beep before start it's pretty continuous then the system starts all led light are on the motherboard green and red then they go out and stay out.
I don't know about thin layer of paste i just put one line down the middle then gently pressed the heat sink fan down before fastening it down not to much though.

It was as clean as poss ,no errors message's it just wouldn't take any windows installations disk's or otherwise ,I don't have an external enclosure.
What I don't want is to buy A new c.p.u and find it's not fixed it..
thanx chris
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
i just put one line down the middle then gently pressed the heat sink fan down before fastening it
This may well be causing part of your problem.
Take a look here:
click here

Too much thermal paste is as bad as not enough.

It was as clean as possible
The surface should be cleaned with rubbing alcohol ( isopropyl alcohol ) ..... any pharmacy

What I don't want is to buy A new c.p.u
I doubt if the problem is CPU related.

I suggest that you re-seat the CPU heat-sink following the instructions above and we will take it from there.
 

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
hi I've done what you said and have come to the conclusion that the c.p.u is fine ,however still no joy.
What it must be is the system was set up with an ssd i still have the ssd but the original hdd i don't, i've tryed my hdd that i know work's with my other system ,but no good the bios must be set wrong or something.
it won't let me repair or clean install anything yet put the hdd back in my good p.c and it's fine?
there's all sort's i don't know about like efi ,or raid maybe the bios is wrong i did flash it not so long ago.
damn blue screen of death lol
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
maybe the bios is wrong i did flash it not so long ago.
This could be your problem.
Can you remember if the machine booted OK after flashing the BIOS ?

also ....
Can you post the error message next time you get a blue screen please ?
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi just to add that the HDD from a different system, unless exactly the same make and model, the Windows operating system on it will see a new and different environment and refuse to boot anyway, possibly why it wouldn't work for you.

Nev.
 

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
hey guys

2013-03-28_19-28-32_222.jpg This image is the error message i've been having recently I have not been running my hdd i've kept the original ssd running safe mode just doesn't work anyway ,
And I just can't think of any new hardware that could be A problem...
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
The STOP code 0000009C is invariably hardware related. ( no surprise there :) )
Take a look here:
http://s13.zetaboards.com/kenspchelp/topic/6964867/1/#new

Strip the system down to just the motherboard and the main power connection from PSU.
It should be stable and you should get POST beeps. ( assuming that there is an internal speaker )
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
I have managed to look at the video all the way through .....

Did the system work before you flashed the BIOS ?

Would erasing the ssd help
If you have anything on the drive that is needed formatting the drive will obviously wipe this.
Also - do you have a full installation disk or recovery disks to re-install ?

Is this a solid state drive ?
If not - we can connect it to another machine and run a check of the drive itself.
 

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
yeah solid state one ,
i'v e a sneaky fealing that the a pin or pins are bent or damaged on motherboard under the cpu as that's the only thing I've not checked .
i'd rather go to a shop and get that looked at by someone who know's . lol
 
Last edited by a moderator:

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
i'v e a sneaky fealing that the a pin or pins are bent or damaged on motherboard under the cpu
You have had the CPU out at least twice now - you should be able to check this quite easily.

If the pins are bent they will not locate in the socket.
If there are any broken this will be obvious when you take a look at them.

Let me know what you want to do :)

You could try taking the RAM modules out.
Switch on.
Do you get the same Blue Screen ?
(It will not boot up - but we need to know if the BSOD still occurs )

Take a look here too
click here
 

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hey long time no see, this is what's happening now I thought the motherboard was gone so I have bought and installed a new board still same prob's,
I'd like to think i need a cpu but I don't want to waste any more money ,how do i fix any cache errors in the cpu or Test for any .
I take the ram module's out and system won't but just keep trying to, I tryed one at a time n difference .
I can get into bios settings no probs and ram shows up fine ,the cpu temperatures fine ,
I think it's cache errors ,but don't now if or how to fix em ....
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
You didn't say if the system worked before you flashed the BIOS .... not that it matters now as you have a new motherboard.

Back to basics.
http://s13.zetaboards.com/kenspchelp...6964867/1/#new

S
trip all major hardware and connections off the board. Leave only the 20(4) way PSU connection.
Switch on.
System should be stable ....fans spinning ...LEDs lit etc. .....and you should get POST beeps if there is an internal speaker.

If it is stable... put the Video Card in and connect up the monitor. ( leave everything else off )
Switch on.
Again you should get POST beeps ( may be a different pattern )
What do you get on screen ?

Did you use your old CPU or a new one ?

If the old one - did you re-seat the heatsink and fan with new thermal paste ?
 

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
You didn't say if the system worked before you flashed the BIOS .... not that it matters now as you have a new motherboard.

Back to basics.
http://s13.zetaboards.com/kenspchelp...6964867/1/#new

S
trip all major hardware and connections off the board. Leave only the 20(4) way PSU connection.
Switch on.
System should be stable ....fans spinning ...LEDs lit etc. .....and you should get POST beeps if there is an internal speaker.

If it is stable... put the Video Card in and connect up the monitor. ( leave everything else off )
Switch on.
Again you should get POST beeps ( may be a different pattern )
What do you get on screen ?

Did you use your old CPU or a new one ?

If the old one - did you re-seat the heatsink and fan with new thermal paste ?
mate I'm pretty sure i've got no internal speaker installed on the p.c,
Here's what I did ,i took everything out apart from ram then I ran a great disk from usb called ultimate boot disk there's all kinds of diagnostic tests on there .
I tested the ram modules no prob's nothing wrong, I tested the hdd fine No prob's ,but cpu test's either would'nt run or there's no caching on all four core's
Therefore I wish i'd have done this, before i bought A motherboard .
So i'll buy a new cpu

Oh yeah i used the mobo's onboard graphics also to rule that out, i'll let ye know how the new c.p.u performs

Light travels faster than sound.
This is why some people appear bright - until you hear them speak !
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
let ye know how the new c.p.u performs
CPUs rarely give problems - but that doesn't mean they don't .....................let us know how you get on :)
 

orme83

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
ah but my mate must have been using it with a broken cooler witch eventually frazzled the cpu.
so I'm pleased to say I'm up and running Yay .
It took me age's to get the new 3740 i5 running until i twigged that the bios had to be updated to the recent one .
I,m convinced it was the old processor now but i'm not switching to the old board now too much hassle ,it will act as a spare mobo for the future to use or sell
Thanx guys :closed_2:
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
I'm pleased to say I'm up and running
That is good to hear :)
I have been away for 4 days - hence the late reply.
 
Top Bottom