• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

[Solved] no boot no post no beeps

matt1295

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
hoping that this section is correct
it all started when my MSI used live update to update everything and it wanted me to reboot so i did and then it went off and when it tryed to turn back on it has not worked since


my problem is i turn the pc on and the cpu fans spin case led lights work cpu gets a little luke warm not any warmer wouldnt even call it luke warm i get no picture no beeps (dnt see a speaker or pins for one)

i have in the last 3 days replaced the Motherboard and Psu re thermal the cpu to have the same problem on the new MB

i have only the CPU and ram left to check i have

this problem is really starting to bug me as theres lots of info with similer problems and none of theres has cured mine

i have also replaced the Cmos battery in both MB

am i right in thinking it has to be the CPU or RAM they are the only things to have changed over from the old MB

all help is greatly received and im hoping to cure it asap as im in hospital on monday and would like to get some stuff on my ipad ready for my stay so im not bord haha

have also taken the MB out and sat on my wooden table and tryed to boot but nothing

previous MB was a MSI 7721
new MB is a gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3H
processor is a A10-6800k quadcore
1 stick of 8gb ram
PSU now a consair cx600

hoping some one can help im sort of desperate for it working
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi and welcome to Free PC Help.
You haven't mentioned the hard drive and there may be a problem getting Windows to boot with the new motherboard, however we can get to that after we can get something to happen.

As you say, other than the hard drive there is only the RAM and CPU, and a bit of a shame the RAM is only one stick, so the only sure way is to either find a compatible computer and try the RAM in that, or replace it.

The other thing being the CPU are you quite sure it fitted the socket,OK, while it was out did you make sure there were no bent pins or pins missing? I.E. maybe one broke and left inside the old socket!

The fact that it all died just after an update, makes me a little suspicious of the hard drive though.
So I suggest that you disconnect it both power leads and data, and leave the rest on, including keyboard and monitor, then push the power button and straight away start tapping the F2 key, (if that is the one for the BIOS) and lets see if it will at least get some BIOS pages load.

Let us know how you get on with that.

Nev.
 

matt1295

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Hi and welcome to Free PC Help.
You haven't mentioned the hard drive and there may be a problem getting Windows to boot with the new motherboard, however we can get to that after we can get something to happen.

As you say, other than the hard drive there is only the RAM and CPU, and a bit of a shame the RAM is only one stick, so the only sure way is to either find a compatible computer and try the RAM in that, or replace it.

The other thing being the CPU are you quite sure it fitted the socket,OK, while it was out did you make sure there were no bent pins or pins missing? I.E. maybe one broke and left inside the old socket!

The fact that it all died just after an update, makes me a little suspicious of the hard drive though.
So I suggest that you disconnect it both power leads and data, and leave the rest on, including keyboard and monitor, then push the power button and straight away start tapping the F2 key, (if that is the one for the BIOS) and lets see if it will at least get some BIOS pages load.

Let us know how you get on with that.

Nev.

the hard drive was a SSD 240gb but when i connected it all back together i didnt connect it back up and wanted to Bios and do a fresh install so that the HDD didnt load any old stuff

i also get no screen for anything to happen when i press the DEL nothing more happens once it went off after the update i thought it maybe screwed the bios or something hence why i bought a new better MB than what i had already

the cpu i checked under a magnifying glass and nothing was all straight and none missing the problem is the exact same on the new MB as it is the old one

hence why i think it is something i changed over
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi and welcome to FpcH

If you have not got an internal speaker there will be no POST beeps - which is a pity.

New m/board ......new PSU ...... you should get something on screen.

Have you connected the monitor to another machine to make sure that it is still OK ?

You can have too much thermal paste on the CPU - this could be why it is luke warm. It should get hot.
The thermal paste should only be the size of a pea then spread evenly with something like a credit card.

With only the monitor connected - no RAM / hard drive / etc etc you should get something on screen.
If not - take another look at the CPU and the thermal paste.
You will have to clean off the old stuff with something like rubbing alcohol from a pharmacy.

Let us know the results of the above please.
 

matt1295

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Hi and welcome to FpcH

If you have not got an internal speaker there will be no POST beeps - which is a pity.

New m/board ......new PSU ...... you should get something on screen.

Have you connected the monitor to another machine to make sure that it is still OK ?

You can have too much thermal paste on the CPU - this could be why it is luke warm. It should get hot.
The thermal paste should only be the size of a pea then spread evenly with something like a credit card.

With only the monitor connected - no RAM / hard drive / etc etc you should get something on screen.
If not - take another look at the CPU and the thermal paste.
You will have to clean off the old stuff with something like rubbing alcohol from a pharmacy.

Let us know the results of the above please.
hello again i will take the cpu out and re-paste the block on it i no the monitor works as its my TV haha and also tried a different one vga and still exactly the same
 

matt1295

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
managed to get a guy to come out for a free diag and he says its the CPU doesnt seem to do much if anything.... so going to buy a cheap **** CPU that fits for a test... if it works i can rebuild the old MB for my son using the cheap CPU :)

will let you all no in a few days once i get it cpu delivered and built back up as im having surgery tomorrow so will be out of action for a day or 2
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
OK Matt, thanks for letting us know, and come back when you are ready, no rush when you have medical stuff going on, that is more important than a computer.
Also all the best with it and if we don't see you before, all the best for the new year too.

Nev.
 

matt1295

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
thanks guys its a in and out one day job but cnt drive for a week

will be on again prob on a phone in hospital as im learning alot from here just reading peoples problems and cures

going to be ordering a A4-4000 cpu there like £26.50 from a shop in the next town so once pay day arrives tuesday i will order one... im lost with my computer and the laptop we have is PANTS
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Matt

Hope the op went OK.

Let us know how the new CPU goes.
You will need to clean off the old paste from the heatsink if you are using this.
Rubbing alcohol.
 

matt1295

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
ordered the CPU today and is been delivered tomorrow apparently

is there anything else i can use i dnt have and idnt order and rubbing cleaner stuff

again thanks for all the help and advice upto now
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
is there anything else i can use i dnt have and idnt order and rubbing cleaner stuff
You can get it at any Chemist / Pharmacy
Isopropyl Alcohol ( rubbing alcohol ) or you could use Methylated Spirit.
Use a small quantity at a time on a cotton bud or soft cloth.
 

matt1295

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
You can get it at any Chemist / Pharmacy
Isopropyl Alcohol ( rubbing alcohol ) or you could use Methylated Spirit.
Use a small quantity at a time on a cotton bud or soft cloth.

the a4 - 4000 amd processor arrived this morning fitted and tested before putting it all in the case and it turned on

rebuild it all back t case and working a treat
 
Top Bottom