• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

[Solved] router password forgotten

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#1
Hi All

Silly me changed my password on live box bado some time ago.
Any thoughts
bob
 

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#3
Hi Arm
Thanks for speed of reply.
No to pin hole. I would be a little unhappy returning router to default anyway as all my other items connected wi fi work fine.
I just purchased a tablet archos and need to connect its wi fi to router I am being asked for a password .
I thought there might be a find password prog I could download.
BFN
Bob
 

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#5
Hi Ken
still lost tried that link but not sure what prog i need
Thanks as usual
Bob
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
8,982
Location
Wirral UK
#6
Hi Bob

I was directing you to this section of the link.
You should be able to click on the appropriate link below ( use x64 if you have a 64 bit system )
They should start the download immediately.

Feedback

If you have any problem, suggestion, comment, or you found a bug in my utility, you can send a message to nirsofer@yahoo.com. If you have a problem, please read the WirelessKeyView Frequently Asked Questions page and the general Frequently Asked Questions page before sending an email.[TABLE="width: 100%"]
[TR]
[TD="align: center"]Download WirelessKeyView[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="align: center"]Download WirelessKeyView for x64


[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
 

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#7
Thanks again Ken
No prob this time still does not show my forgotten password
Kindest
Bob
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
8,982
Location
Wirral UK
#8
Hi Bob

I get this screen - Do You ?

Key.jpg

I have blacked out the details of my keys.

If you don't - what is happening ?
 

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#9
Hi Ken exactly the same

Although it has not solved the prob I have worked out the password believe it or not the user name and password for my router is the same word.
Dont worry for now Ken and Arm I will keep you informed

Bob
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
8,982
Location
Wirral UK
#10
Hi Bob

The User Name and Password is used to access the Router Software.

What you were describing was the Network Security Key - which is used to allow new users to access your Wireless Network and subsequently the Internet.
I just purchased a tablet archos and need to connect its wi fi to router I am being asked for a password .
The link I gave you informs you of the Network security Key.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
8,982
Location
Wirral UK
#12
Hi Bob

It is as I thought.
The password that you are being asked for is the Network Key for the Router.
This is the one that WirelessKeyFinder locates.
Try typing in the one shown under Key (Ascii ) where it says Password in the pic below.
[If you have not changed this it will be shown on the back or underside of your router ]

This is the info from your link:

WiFi and configure a WiFi network.From the system bar, you can access the WiFi settings quickly.
1. Touch the time in the system bar.
2. Touch the status icons. The status details is displayed below.
3. Touch WiFi to open the WiFi settings.


4. In the Settings screen, select Wireless & networks.
5. If the WiFi is off, tap on the WiFi line to turn it on. Then select WiFi settings. The ARCHOS will scan automatically for available WiFi networks and show all the wireless networks in range of your device. The list is refreshed continuously.
4. Tap on the network you want to connect to. Networks shown with the icon are secured connections.
A password is required for a secured connection. Enter the required network information* and then tap on Connect. Your ARCHOS will now attempt to establish a connection to that WiFi access point with the network parameters you entered.

* For free access WiFi points, there is no need to enter any special information. For secured networks, you will need either a key (a series of numbers and/or letters) of the type WEP, WPA, or WPA2, or you will need to have a WiFi access point that uses the WiFi protection standard WPS (WiFi Protected Setup). Check with the Internet service provider to obtain the exact connection parameters required.
ADVANCED CONNECTION

To manually scan for available WiFi networks,
1.Go to the WiFi settings screen. 2.Tap on the Menu button in the upper right corner. 3.Tap on Scan.
If the WiFi network you want to connect to does not appear in the list,
1.Scroll down the screen. 2.Tap on Add WiFi network. 3.Enter the required settings. 4.Tap on Save.
To access the advanced network parameters (Regulatory domain, IP address, etc),
1.Tap on the Menu button in the upper right corner. 2.Tap on Advanced.
Other parameters will appear: the required information can be obtained from the Internet service provider.
 

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#13
Your so kind on here will have to wait until tomorrow this old brain is tired for to day
Night Ken
 

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#14
Your so kind on here will have to wait until tomorrow this old brain is tired for to day
Night Ken
Tablet now working will explain later
thank you thank you Bob
 

bob12a

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
636
Location
Essex UK
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows 7- Home Premium
#16
Dear Ken
Getting on fine with Archos now thanks.
Not being able to get on line forced me around my computer and tablet trying different things gave me a good feel of a new gadget.
The thing that completely confused me was when Tablet keep asking for a password which was in fact the WEP number from the live box. Never mind alls well that ends well I did learn a lot.

BFN and thanks FPCH