• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

[ Solved ]Sata to Pata Adapter.

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,154
Location
Wirral UK
#21
200gb hard drive it now shows up as 55gb
Take a look in Disk Management for me please:

Start > Run ....type in ....diskmgmt.msc .....ENTER [ not sure this works with XP ...........if not ... click here ]

If you only have the one hard drive it will show up as Disk 0
If you can post a screen shot of this that would be great.
 

Bringe

FPCH Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
67
PC Experience
Some Experience
#22
Hi NeV.
Thanks for your reply. There's a bit of a story here. After I had recovered all my files from the 200gb hard disc, I formatted it by right clicking on the drive in "my computer" and click format and checked the fast format box. That went ok, it still showed 185gb. Now I was going to put it back into the original pc and reinstall the os. But I thought I would clone it instead. That went ok or so I thought. I put it back into the original pc and booted up. The pc wanted to go online to install drivers but no matter what I tried I could not get a connection. Tried several times but the wizard kept saying that the connection was already configured and the light was on where the internet line plugs in. In desperation I thought I would revert back to my plan to reinstall the os. On trying this I got a message saying the hard drive needs formatting, so I clicked ok, then shortly after got a message saying the hard drive cant be formatted. So, I removed the hard drive and put it back into the other pc (the one where I needed the adapter for) and again right clicked the drive as before, and it came up as being 55gb
I hope that gives an idea as to whats happening.
Really would appreciate some help or advice here.
Many Thanks

Bringe.
 

Bringe

FPCH Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
67
PC Experience
Some Experience
#24
Hi KenB.
Many thanks for your reply. I think that you and I must have been typing at the same time. Anyway, I have attatched a couple of screen shots, I hope they help.
Ive noticed that it is now down to less than 8meg. I think I messed around with it last night while I was fairly intoxicated. DSC00438.jpg DSC00439.jpg
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,154
Location
Wirral UK
#25
Hi
You have 2 hard drives on this system.

Disk 0 [ C: ] = 55.9 GB [ This will have Windows on it ]

You have a second hard drive [ Disk 1 ] which is E: and has an 8MB partition ...BUT has 186GB unallocated.
In other words - Windows cannot see it or use it.
This is the 200 GB drive that you referred to earlier :)

Something went a bit wrong when you formatted the drive.

Can you attach this drive to Win 7 / Vista or are you stuck with XP ?
It is easier to sort the "unallocated" area out from Win 7 rather than try using XP.
 

Bringe

FPCH Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
67
PC Experience
Some Experience
#26
Hi KenB.
Many thanks for your reply.
Ime afraid I dont have access to win7 or vista, I only have xp:(

Bringe.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,154
Location
Wirral UK
#27
Hi again

I am not sure that XP can configure the "unallocated" space without additional software. ( It is a long time since I used it :) )

Go back to Disk Management
Right click on the "unallocated" space on Disk 1

If "New Simple Volume" is an option ....select this.
Use the default for the size of the volume as this should be the maximum.

Follow the screen prompts .....make sure that you use NTFS for the file system.
You can use the default for the drive letter.

If this isn't possible with XP we will have to look at using some software.
 

Bringe

FPCH Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
67
PC Experience
Some Experience
#28
Hi KenB.
Thanks for your reply. I did what you asked on both parts of the drive and as you can see there is no "new simple volume" listed.:confused2: DSC00440.jpg DSC00441.jpg
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,154
Location
Wirral UK
#29
I did wonder if XP could perform the task we wanted ......apparently not.

Please download EaseUs from here - click here
You want the FREE version.

Make sure that your external hard drive is connected.

Install EaseUs and run it.

Click on EaseUs Partition Master.
EaseUs will identify the partitions on the 2 drives.
You do NOT want to alter anything on the C: drive.

Click on the external drive [ probably labelled Disk 2 ]

The following is taken from the EaseUs instruction manual:

Move & Resize Partition
The Move & Resize Partition function allows the user to modifythe size and position of partitions on the hard disk keeping allon-disk information intact.
In order to Resize/Move a partition the user should take thefollowing steps:
1. Select a partition on the Disk Map. ( This is the visual image of the drive )
2. Call the Resize/Move Partition dialog to define appropriatesettings. There are several ways to do it:
Select in the Main menu: Partitions > Resize/Move partition.
Call the popup menu for the selected partition (right click of themouse button) on the Disk Map or on the List of Partitions, thenselect the menu item: Resize/Move partition.
3. Define parameters of the operation with the Resize/Movepartition dialog.
Partition preview. The disk map displays the resulting disk layoutafter the move/resize operation is completed.
Partition size. Define the size (in Mb) of the modified partition.
Unallocate Space Before. Define the position (in Mb) of thepartition relative to the beginning of the available range of diskspace.
Unallocate Space After. Define the amount of trailing free space(in Mb) at the end of the available range of disk space.
Partition size and position may also be defined by using thedrag-and-drop technique. To do that, just carry out the required operation on the Disk Map. The virtual operations are to be available.
When resizing a FAT16 partition beyond the 2GB limit (maximum filesystem size), the partition will be automatically converted to FAT32.
4. The operation will be performed immediately after confirmation.

===============
I hope this helps :)
 

Bringe

FPCH Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
67
PC Experience
Some Experience
#30
Hi KenB.
Many thanks for your reply and advice. I downloaded and ran the program as you said, it looked a bit daunting at first, but I read some of the help topics and it didn't seem so bad.
I just moved the parameter bars to cover the whole drive (186gb) and clicked the button at the top to make it happen and, it worked:D
Ime not sure if I should have formatted it afterwards, but it seems ok even after a restart. It was still named "new volume" but I just renamed it "local disk"
Once again, Many thanks for your, and Plastic NeV's help along the way here. I think that this thread could be put to bed now, but ime sure I will be back here with another problem sometime soon.
Many Thanks.

Bringe.:flame:
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Lancashire
#32
Thanks from me too for the feedback and glad we could help.
Once you learn the ins and outs of that EasUS partition manager, it is a wonderful program for sorting partitions out as to how you want them.

Nev.