• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Sound issue

mrmoney

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
18
#1
For some reason I am not getting sound on my PC, running XP.

When I try to record in sound recorder, I get: "Another application is recording audio"

In Volume Control, I get "There are no active mixer devices available"

In Control Panel > Sound and Audio Devices, I get greyed-out options in the Volume tab, with the top message being "No Audio Device".

And it's weird, because in Device Manager, there are no ! exclamation marks next to any of my audio devices. On the list is: Audio Codecs, Legacy Audio Drivers, Legacy Video Capture Devices, Media Control Devices, Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device, and Video Codecs. It says the drivers are up-to-date. I have also tried uninstalling Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device, restarting, and then re-detecting. Still nothing.

So I'm wondering what the problem is. I should say that ever since my hard drive died and the repair man fixed it, sound has been an issue. Does anybody know what I should do?

Thank you very much.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#2
Welcome to Free PC Help mrmoney.

In Device Manager, right click on the unimodem audio device and choose Properties. What does the Device Status show?
 

mrmoney

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
18
#3
It looks a little bit something like this (click to enlarge):



So it look as if everything is fine, which makes this very odd.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#4
Yes, that's fine.

It's a combination modem/audio card, correct?

Check DM again and look for anything with a ! or a ? in front of it.

Other than that, it might be easier to go to a local shop as they could sell you used audio card for next to nothing.
 

mrmoney

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
18
#5
I assume it is combined, yes. But this is weird. No exclamation marks. No driver issues. Yet it says there is no audio device.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
That is weird.

What exactly did the repair guy fix?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#8
I re-read your post and now doubt the issue is with the card, but rather with the software. Especially with that unusual recording message.

Can you boot into Safe Mode (keep tapping F8 as the computer starts) and check the Sounds and Audio tab?
 

mrmoney

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
18
#9
I will try that. I should say: what seems really weird is that all the messages seem to involve the sound card already being in use. I don't see how this could possibly be the case.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#10
Let's see how Safe Mode goes.

After that, we can check your startup programs using msconfig.
 

mrmoney

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
18
#11
OK, well I went into Safe Mode and there was no difference in what I saw.

Talk me through this msconfig thing if that's OK with you.
 

mrmoney

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
18
#12
Actually, scrap that for now. I just bought a USB sound card off eBay for pennies on the dollar. So I'll see if this sorts my problem. If not, I'll come back to this fine website ;)

Thank you for your help. It was appreciated.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#13
You're most welcome.

Given the recording message and what I posted in #8, I don't think a new sound card will correct the problem, as it seems a program is interfering with the card.

Try this:

Go to Start, run, type in msconfig and hit ok. Put a dot on Selective Startup and click on the Startup tab. Scroll through the list and uncheck everything except your internet security. Click Apply>Ok and restart when prompted. You'll know you did it right as upon the XP boot, a message will appear that you used the System Configuration Utility (just put a dot on Don't Show Me This Again". How is the sound now?

If that doesn't work, open Task Manager by a ctrl-alt-delete and click on the processes tab. Maximize the screen and post a screenshot, as one of those processes is the suspect.
 

mrmoney

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
18
#14
OK, well I did a selective startup. I'm still getting exactly the same messages.

This is my Task Manager (note I am still in selective startup):

 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#17
mr,

I'm just having a look at the processes right now...
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#18
I don't see any process which would account for the message.

Let's make sure the Audio Service is running:

Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services. Right click on Window's Audio and choose properties. Make sure it shows as "Automatic" and that it is running. If it isn't, change it, restart the computer and go back to Audio and Sound Devices. Go through each tab and click on the drop down arrow. Your sound card should appear in the drop down.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#19
It's also possible that the repair guy managed to install the wrong audio driver.

Go to Window's update and choose Custom. Also make sure the Hardware option is checked and see if a better driver is found.
 

allheart55

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
48
Location
Levittown, Pennsylvania
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows 8 - Pro
#20
You are missing the Microsoft Universal Audio Architecture (UAA) Bus Driver. Without downloading that first you won't have audio. The HP website has a universal type Microsoft UAA. If you are running any version of Win XP this one will work. Download