• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

SP3 now available via Windows Update

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#1
Just to let everyone know, SP3 for WinXP is coming through when you
do a manual Windows Update. I just performed a restore of WinXP
from the recovery partition on a Dell Laptop which included SP2.
Then I manually ran Windows Update and it downloaded one large
SP3 file.

SP3 installed with no problems, HOWEVER, I had to go back and get
about 4 more updates. SP3 does not include Explorer7. Then one of
the updates failed to install !!!!

Fortunately the error code and help links at the Update page
led me to the fix. I had to open a cmd prompt and re-register
about 8 DLLs to fix the problem. After that, the last update
installed properly.

That's the latest news on SP3. :)

---pete---
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#2
Thanks Pete.

I try to use the FULL installer when possible - SP3 is a big download to have to do over and over if you have a lot of systems or visit a lot of users.

Also the monthly Tuesday updates came out already which are post SP3 so that's why you already see updates, but better than the almost 100 that you were starting to get with just an SP2 update.

.
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#3
Thanks Pete.

I try to use the FULL installer when possible - SP3 is a big download to have to do over and over if you have a lot of systems or visit a lot of users.
I'm wondering, if we have a WinXP installation that is only up to SP1,
can we skip applying SP2 and simply use the SP3 full installer to obtain
all the required updates, or are we required to apply SP2 first and
then SP3?

---pete---
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#4
Hi pete;
SP3 contains all the previously released updates. So no you don't need SP2 or SP1.
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#6
The file size of Windows XP SP3 can be up 316MB. When i downloaded SP3 through the update website it was only 66MB. So i think it depends on what you have installed already on the computer.
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#7
Yes, through the UDPATE site it does. But downloading the version for IT Technicians and burning that to a CD will save you a lot of download time when visiting customers or fixing units in your shop, or in a Corporate Network.
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#9
Ok guys, that's all good news about SP3. :)

Is the topic of slipstreaming service packs an acceptable topic on these forums?

---pete---
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#11
Hi Pete

As long as it wont get us in trouble then it's all good. :)
That's kind of what I'm asking about. Specifically in relation to rule#4
of Free PC Help forums which forbids software hacks. I've seen topics on
slipstreaming on various websites and links to those sites on credible
tech forums, but it's still not clear to me whether slipstreaming is
considered a software hack or if that type of thing would be forbidden
by rule#4 of this forum.

RULES...
http://www.freepchelp.co.uk/forum/rules-please-read/1721-rules.html

PS: If this requires further discussion perhaps we can begin a
new thread. I'll leave that judgement to you. Thanks.

---pete---
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#13
Microsoft supports slip streaming and is not illegal in any way in any Country that I'm aware of.
Ok thanks, that's the answer I was looking for.
I was not aware that MS supports slip streaming.

Thanks again!

---pete---