• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Stuck in a loop!

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Ken
"EaseUS Partition Master can directly convert GPT disk to MBR disk without any data loss (hard disk with system installed is not supported)"
This statement from your link seems to contradict my experience of EaseUs Partition Master, otherwise why would I receive a 'choice' message
implying that to continue with the conversion GPT to MBR would result in disk information being lost?

From memory, there is also an option to create a copy of the disk drive using the EaseUs programme.
What if I copied drive E: first and then went ahead with the conversion. Would the saved data transfer back to the converted HD....?
Just a thought....

I tried the Command you suggested to access System Restore. It works but it seems the machine is recognising itself - not drive E:
even though I input the letter E: at the prompt to begin with. The list of Restore points makes this clear because it references
the deleted file WinLocker as well as Adobe Reader - both of which I deleted in an attempt to resolve the Copy/Paste issue
plaguing us earlier on this machine, so it's definitely not looking at drive E: for some reason. Also, the available RP's only go
back as far as 29 April.

Sorry to keep posing questions rather than answers..

Labi.
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Update: I just tried to run the convert programme again. Didn't get the options box this time though.
It seems I have to click on 'Apply'at the top of the screen - although there are no helpful on screen
prompts to advise the steps involved?

Finally, I returned to the screen after waiting a long time and clicked on 'apply', more in hope than expectation.
Then I got the option to shut down so changes could be applied. I clicked 'yes' and waited for the laptop to reboot
but it stalled during the reboot before windows could open and I had to abort the procedure.
Might have been a one off glitch so will try again in the morning. Watch this space.....!

Labi.
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Update: Have now managed to convert GPT to MBR and perform 'rebuild MBR' option, too! (Don't ask!!)

However, Win7 machine does not open from the HD connected via USB even though USB is prioritised
in the BIOS. The good news: data is still intact despite the earlier abortive attempts to alter the HD
structure using EaseUs software!

Am away from home atm so can't try the HD in my Asus - but I'm not confident that it's going to
fire up quite honestly since Win7 BIOS seems not to find it.

Are there any other tests I could run in the meantime to check OS function....?

Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,129
Location
Wirral UK
Hi Labi
You mentioned earlier that you wanted to delete F: and combine it with E:.
If this is still the case we can do this now.

======================

but I'm not confident that it's going to fire up quite honestly
The only real test is to put it back in the Asus machine - sorry.

You will need to alter the BIOS in the Asus.

1. Disable Secure Boot.
2. Enable CSM mode. [ this is a compatibility mode for MBR ]
3. Save and Exit.

Give it a try.

If after all of this it doesn't boot up I am going to suggest that you install Ubuntu Mint. [ Free ]
This will, at least, confirm that the drive is OK and that it is capable of running an OS.
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Ken
I think it's safe to say the F: partition must have been created in error and it now only contains
deleted files in the trash bin anyway...for some reason. So; yes, I would like to delete it and return the HD
to its previous state after which I'll try to boot Win7 machine from the HD one more time, in case there's
some mysterious improvement in its condition!
Meanwhile, operation Asus will have to wait until I get home in a few days time!!
Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,129
Location
Wirral UK
To get the two partitions [ E: and F: ] to merge do the following:

Start > type in .....dskmgmt.msc ...... Enter
You should see two disks [ Disk 0 and Disk 1 ]
On Disk 1 should be E: and DATA F: and F: needs to be to the right of E:.

If this is the case - right click on F: and select "Delete Partition"
You should see something like mine below:
DskMgmt 1.JPG

Your F: partition will be replaced by "Unallocated" space.

Now right click on your E: partition and select "Extend"
Follow the prompts by clicking "Next" etc.
Your E: partition will extend into the "Unallocated" space. [ see mine below ]

dskMgmt 2.JPG

Job done :)

=============================

Have you tried F9 again with the drive in the Asus machine?
If we could get to the Recovery Options this would be great.
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Ken
Job done! F: volume/partition is no more. E: has been expanded to fill the unallocated space.
No change in the way Win7 machine opens with USB connected, though.
Operation Asus must wait until I return home later this week.
I'll let you know how it goes soon...
Thanks, Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,129
Location
Wirral UK
I found a video on an Asus machine and "Data F:" was a standard partition.
I wonder if it was part of your machine set-up all along ?

Glad that you have managed to combine the two partitions as you wanted :)
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,129
Location
Wirral UK
If you can get F9 to work then do the following .....
[Try this to get F9 to work - Switch off - then hold F9 down - switch on again whilst still holding F9 down .....]

9155eb77-58a1-438d-9b13-4269cffd2c53.png

33e223c6-3b2e-43de-8258-23b9a909c416.png

Then select "Restore Factory Settings" - this will revert your machine to the way it was when you first bought it.
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi Ken
Back home and working on installing HD in Asus atm.
Now find a new message after rebooting......
"Reboot and select proper Boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key".
I haven't reset the BIOS yet, as you suggested earlier. Was expecting to go straight there as usual after booting tbh...
Don't want to upset anything so will leave the screen showing the message above pending your wise counsel!
Thanks Labi.
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Update: Have checked BIOS and found that Secure Boot is already disabled & CSM Enabled.
F9 isn't opening the Recovery options screen so perhaps the only thing left to try
is operation Ubuntu Mint...?!
Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,129
Location
Wirral UK
Reboot and select proper Boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key
Can you check the Boot Order please?
It will be under Boot / Boot Sequence / Boot order or similar.

The Hard Disk [ HDD ] should be first.
If it isn't then there will be instructions on the page to move it up the order.

If you can get at the RAM module take this out and clean the copper with a pencil eraser [ gently ]
Replace.

Try F9 again.

Try booting up again.

if we get nowhere then I am inclined to agree - we should try Mint.

I think your BIOS setting re. CSM [ enabled ] should remain for the Mint installation.
I will get this confirmed.
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Ken
Still no joy.
BIOS does now recognise the HD. (Result!)

Under BOOT - I find "Launch CSM [enabled]
& Boot Option no.1 ------[PO. Toshiba ........]"
"Secure Boot Control is "Disabled".
(Date & time will need resetting)

Can't work out if RAM connections are soldered or clip on/push-fit. In the circumstances think I will
resist trying to remove. It looks clean enough.....(?)

With HD in place, the same message appears every time I switch on - "Reboot & select proper boot device...."
F9 makes no difference.
Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,129
Location
Wirral UK
Hi Labi,

There are 3 reasons why the date and time shows incorrectly.

The main one - and the usual culprit - is the CMOS battery.

It could also be time zone related - but this assumes that you can boot into Windows.

The third is malware - again assuming you can boot into Windows.

So - logically - it would seem that the CMOS battery needs replacing - and this could be the reason that you are being thrown into the BIOS.

What is the date and time that shows in the BIOS?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
110
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
Ken
Looks like I'll have to order the part. It's more than a simple battery: there's also a wire and connector
attachment too. The battery is very small - shirt button size - contained in a plastic sleeve which
doesn't come off.
Anyway: BIOS details - "System date [Mon 02/23/2009]
(The system time clock is running).

Labi.
 
Top Bottom