• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Stuck in a loop!

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#81
Ken

Trying to open E: brings up a box headed - Location Not Available.
Underneath which is ........................................ "E:\ is not accessible"
---------"----------- "Access is Denied"

This window was showing up from time to time throughout my attempts
to examine the contents of the HD, before running the CHKDSK scan.

If this proves to be a major problem, I wonder if it's possible
to copy/save the data and then format E: ready to 'reload' once its been
reconfigured....??

Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#82
Hi Labi

Formatting is the absolute last resort.

Try this:
Right-click on E: drive, select Properties. Go to the Security tab, hit Advanced, then click Edit button. On the Owner tab take a look what it says.
You may need to take ownership of the E: partition.

Click "Edit" then make any changes.

The column [Allow] with ticks in shows what permissions you have.
Click on the individual Group or User to see what permissions they have.

Security.PNG


Don't forget to OK the changes

If you are unsure copy what is under "Owner" and post it here
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#83
Hi Ken
Right. Back home again.
From the attached pics you can see I have managed to tick all the boxes
under Properties - both for 'system' & 'administrator' - except for the box
at the bottom left (in both cases) saying "apply these permissions to objects..." etc
which remains unticked atm.(?)

Pic #1 shows "Advanced Security Settings for OS, with cursor on 'Owner'. I wonder if I should
try to change owner here to the names shown below, although not quite sure how to effect
the change...?

Just to recap: as it stands I'm still getting the "E: is not accessible" message box when I click
on E: under Computer....

Labi. 20180412_170418[1].jpg 20180412_165946[1].jpg 20180412_150512[1].jpg
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#84
Hi Labi,
Thanks for the pics - they help a lot.

The 3rd one is a cause for concern
It is showing E: drive as NTFS [ which is as it should be ] BUT the problem is it is showing 0 bytes as the capacity.
This implies that there is nothing on the drive and it can't be read.

If you go back to dskmgmt.msc - what is showing there for E: drive ?

Did you try chkdsk /f F: on the other drive ?
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#85
Ken
Another snapshot of drive E: below.
I did run CHKDSK on the F; drive and the results came through quickly, indicating that there were no
problems with the file system.
Curiously, when the F: drive window is opened, it shows that a small segment of the HD
is occupied by data. See the attached pic. But, after checking the folder (_ace_stream_)
it appears to be empty?!

Labi. 20180412_184303[1].jpg 20180412_183022[1].jpg
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#86
Hi Labi
Disk Management is showing the drives correctly.

You say that you can open F: drive - but presumably cannot access any files / data.

Take a look at this link [ a bit long but I think necessary ]
It will show you how to take ownership of F: drive and grant permissions to access the drive.

http://preyerplanning.com/take-ownership-of-entire-hard-drive-in-windows-7.pdf

Obviously this tutorial shows E: drive - you will need to do the process on your F: drive.

With luck you may gain access to the data on the drive.

After taking ownership etc try accessing the drive again.
Just treat it as a memory stick.
Click on it to open or right click > Open.

If this gives you access to F: and you can copy files to a folder on the desktop I think the next stage is to return the hard drive to its original computer and see if it will boot up.

Don't use the above process on E: drive.
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#87
Hi Ken
That's a very useful guide: I just wish I'd seen it earlier!
Unwisely perhaps, I'd already 'tinkered' with the Users & Permissions etc in Properties under drive E:
- in an effort to 'take ownership' which I thought was successful - at least insofar as managing to
activate the "Setting security information" operation on drive E: which took around 30 - 40 minutes to complete.
After which, though, I still get the same message - "E:\ is not accessible" - "Access is denied". So maybe I've
not ticked the right boxes after all...? Let's hope nothing too drastic has resulted from my efforts!

Drive F: is a puzzle. Bearing in mind it hasn't given an "Access Denied" message; it simply opens to a folder
which is empty, yet the properties diagram shows that some space is occupied.
Here follows 2 x pics: don't know if they're helpful or not, QH..?
I did go through the link instructions anyway in an effort to change the Permissions, and I think I succeeded -
but again, no sign of any data being revealed.

Labi. 20180413_165739[1].jpg 20180413_165614[1].jpg
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#88
Hi Labi

This is very frustrating for you.

You could run EaseUS on both E: and F: again to see if it can locate any data.

Personally I would be inclined to try putting the drive back in the original computer and see if it will boot up.

The original problem was that E: was RAW.
We have, at least, been able to get that to show NTFS which is what it should be.
There is no way that the drive would have booted up when it was RAW but hopefully it may now.

Give it a go - it costs nothing to try :)
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#89
Hi Ken
What's really odd is...because it's a quicker view than EaseUs (which takes ages - only allowing for a deep scan) I opened Disk Drill
and it showed RAW against drive E: !? However, DISKMGMT.MSC gave a different (healthy!) picture, as already shown earlier.
Mystifying - and I know it's difficult to diagnose the possible causes given the limitations of our online IT surgery!

Can I use the USB plug on my Asus to re-connect the HD and try to boot up....? Saves me re-installing it if it proves
to be defective still.

Best, Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#90
Can I use the USB plug on my Asus to re-connect the HD and try to boot up
Possibly.
Some computers give you the option of tapping F12 after switching on, to produce a list of bootable media.
Try this and if you do get a list of options then select the USB one.

If not ......
You will need to enter the BIOS of your Win7 machine [ the one the problem drive is attached to ]
If you switch on and watch the screen it should say ......... "Press DEL [ or some other key ] to enter Setup"
This doesn't stay on screen for long and you need to press the key quickly.

This will take you to the BIOS [ which will probably look different from the Win10 version.

You are looking for Boot or Boot Order or similar.
Hopefully USB-HDD [ or something with USB in it ] will be there.
You need to move this to the top of the Boot Order. [ make it the 1st Boot Device]

To do this you need to highlight the USB-HDD [ or whatever it is called ]
To move it to the top of the order you usually use the arrow keys.
It will tell you on screen.
If you can do this don't forget to Save and Exit [ usually F10 ]

With the problem drive plugged in - switch on.
The machine should look at the USB drive first to see if there is a bootable operating system there.
If not it will then look to the next in the Boot Order.

If it boots up Win8.1 - success.
If it boots up Win7 ...... :(

If it DOES boot up Win8.1 see if you can find any of your files / data on both drives [ E: and F: ]
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#91
Hi Ken
Since my last email: in fact, the first thing I tried after all, was to replace the HD in my Asus (which, incidentally, runs on 8.1 not win 10).
Straight into BIOS! All the settings are of course haywire after being disconnected.
At this point, again it's impossible to shut down without holding down the power switch, so there is only a short window
after using "Save & Exit" before PC reboots back to BIOS, during which I tried F12 and got a message I hadn't
seen before..."Secure boot violation invalid signature detected. Check secure boot policy in setup."

What I'm not clear about is ...your suggestion to re-jig my win 7 PC to reboot and prioritise the USB - which should then allow me to
examine the files in E: & F: drives (hopefully).............is this a preliminary step before copying everything over to a folder so that
the HD can then be formatted safely, perhaps deleting the F: drive in the process as well since it has apparently been
created in error? If so, will my win 7 PC interpret the file data correctly given that win 8.1 was responsible for its creation?

Disk management is still showing both drives E: & F: are 'healthy' BTW....


Best wishes, Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#92
(which, incidentally, runs on 8.1 not win 10
Sorry for the error - I have altered my last post :)

Straight into BIOS!
I was hoping that it would have booted up now that the RAW partition is showing NTFS.

Secure boot violation invalid signature detected. Check secure boot policy in setup.
Boot up again and as it boots directly into the BIOS look for the Security Tab along the top.
Click on this.
Secure Boot will probably be enabled.
Click on it and you should get the option to Disable.
Don't forget to Save and Exit.

=======================
Ref DATA F:
is this a preliminary step before copying everything over to a folder
Yes. If we can access the data then the first thing we will do is to copy it to the Win7 Desktop.

will my win 7 PC interpret the file data correctly
Yes - no problems here - unless you have an old version of Word on the Win 7 machine and a newer version on the 8.1
There are, however, ways around this.
The important thing is trying to get at your files.

=======================

Try making changes to Secure Boot and see if it will boot up now.

If not then take it out and connect it up to the caddy and the Win7 machine.
Make the changes in the BIOS of the Win7 machine and see if Win 8.1 will boot up.

If not - leave it connected and get back to me.
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#93
Ken
Still going into BIOS even after disabling Secure Boot. Other settings there also need updating, though.

BIOS in Win 7 successfully changed to prioritise USB mass storage device, although - after some hesitation,
win 7 still opened up, bypassing the USB setting.

Clicking on E: drive under computer, again gives the message "E:\ is not accessible"..etc.
Does this bring us back to the question of "Ownership" I wonder? Last time I looked into this section
under Properties, it listed several Users and I'm unsure which one is recognised as the 'correct' User.
As I said previously, I did make some changes hoping that I could take back Ownership in case
access was being denied on that account. Is it now time to re-visit Properties...?

Labi.
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#94
Hi Ken
Have checked Disk Drill again and found that E: drive still shows RAW - unlike F: drive which is NTFS.
I'm now wondering if it's worth running Chkdisk/fix again, in case something I've done in Properties
has corrupted or misfiled data somehow...?

Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#95
Run diskmgmt.msc again with the caddy connected.
Does the E: partition show up as RAW there?

Try this for me:
With the caddy connected-
Start > type in cmd
Right click on Command Prompt that shows left of screen > click on Run as Adminisrator
At the Command Prompt type ...... E: .....and hit Enter.
You should see something like this this: [ mine shows F: ]
command prompt.JPG
Now type ......... bootrec /scanos ...... hit Enter [ space after bootrec ]

Does this show any Operating Systems found ?

================

We can also look for photos: [ As most of your photos are on DATA F: do the following ]

Type in F: .....hit Enter

At the prompt type ....... dir /b /s *.jpg .......hit Enter [ space after dir and space after /b ]

This is what I found:
command prompt2.JPG

Let me know the results :)
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#96
Ken
The command "bootrec" isn't recognised...?
Pics below to show current status. Hope they shed some light...?

Labi. 20180417_231347[1].jpg 20180417_230755[1].jpg
 

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#97
Hi Ken
A further update. I ran the 2nd command on both F: & E:
F: shows "No files found" (in relation to JPG's)
E: produces a very lengthy list with all sorts of 'stuff' relating (presumably) to JPG files.
At times, while the list (under E:) changed very quickly, I noticed some references to
RAW & 'bad' during the scan.
Finding it increasingly baffling. Darkest before dawn, perhaps....?

Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#98
Hi Labi

"bootrec" isn't recognised...?
Very odd
Your pics however, show that Windows does see an OS on E:

Odd that F: shows no .jpg files [ photos ] when both EaseUS and the other software found lots.

RAW & 'bad' during the scan.
Not good - it looks as if many of you pics are corrupt.

Try this:
Create a new folder on the Win7 Desktop [ right click on the Desktop > New .......give it a name ]
I called mine ..... Test [ keep yours simple too ]

Right click on your new folder > click on Properties
Next to "Location" is the information you want.
Mine was .......... C:\users\kenb\desktop.......[ make a note of what yours says]

Now go to the Command Prompt again. [ use Administrator again ]

Type at the prompt: [this is what I used yours will be different at the end - after C: ]
for /r E:\ %f in (*.jpg) do @copy "%f" C:\users\kenb\desktop\test

NOTE - after C:\ you will need to use the location of your new file PLUS the name you gave it.
Note the spacing of the above.

When you click on Enter you should see the files being transferred to the new folder.
My test worked fine.
We will be able to see which pictures [ if any ] can be saved
 
Last edited:

Labi

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2018
Messages
61
Location
london
PC Experience
Some Experience
#99
Hi Ken
Different scans seem to produce contradictory results. All very confusing...
According to various websites bootrec is associated with Win7 together with
other related commands...?.
Before moving files over, is it worth trying another command to fix the Boot system?
I notice that there are one or two variations on the theme. Perhaps a "fixboot" command
might repair the damage and allow me to keep the HD intact after all....?

Labi.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
is it worth trying another command to fix the Boot system?
I had thought of that - but ......we are using two different systems [ Win7 with a standard BIOS and Win8.1 with UEFI ]

Also we would need to use the bootrec command - and for some reason you say that this isn't recognised.

Also - it looks as if many of your files / data are corrupt. This implies that Windows files etc may be corrupt too.
So it may not be as simple as fixing the MBR

Let's see if we can salvage any of your data [ we can use the above command for documents too ]
Try the Command Prompt above and let's see what you end up with :)
 
Last edited: