• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Tiger woods 07

shep1972

FPCH New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
4
#1
I have just purchased tiger woods 07 and i been having trouble with it crashing. i updated my graphics card (Geforce4 MX440) and it still crashes. i have asked Ea and they told me to update drivers( done ). then i called the hotline and they have told me that that graphic card does not work with this game. but all that game needs is Geforce3 or better.
Is there anyone out there they can help???
 

PriceChild

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
42
Location
Upon a Chair
#4
Well just buy another graphics card...

Get an AGP card, as you've got the slot for it.

Simply swap them round and everything should still work.
 

Jamey

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
333
Location
Telford, UK
#5
I've had a look for a cheap AGP card (they're getting rarer these days as PCI Express is the new format) and I found a GeForce FX 5500 card that would run the game properly. It costs £29.38 in the UK; if you're not British, you may be able to find a similar deal for it where you are. Anyway here's the link: http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/108146
 

shep1972

FPCH New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
4
#6
Right i have a new FX5500 card, but i got no manual.. can anyone give me any tips on installing it??
 

PriceChild

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
42
Location
Upon a Chair
#7
Turn off pc and remove power cord.

Open the box, remove old one, push new one in its place.

Put everything back together, turn pc on.

Windows should recognise it.

go to nvidia.com and download the latest drivers. (not beta) and run that... a reboot and all should be good :)
 

Jamey

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
333
Location
Telford, UK
#8
Make sure you touch a grounded metal surface to discharge any static electricity in your body before commencing with the upgrade.
 

shep1972

FPCH New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
4
#9
New card is now in stalled into my PC, but now i am having trouble with the tiger woods game. the graphics are to big for my screen when i play the game.
Any help avaible ???
 

Jamey

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
333
Location
Telford, UK
#10
I'm not sure what you mean, is the picture quality 'bitty' or pixelated? If so, you may need to configure the game to run in a higher resolution. Look in the graphics options section while within the game, raise the resolution to something higher.
 

PriceChild

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
42
Location
Upon a Chair
#11
Jamey said:
Make sure you touch a grounded metal surface to discharge any static electricity in your body before commencing with the upgrade.
He he... if you wanna be picky then you should use a static proof mat for under the computer and under your feet.

Personally i just use a wooden table or the floor... whatever's nearest ;)