• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Vista StartMenu and All Programs icon, text size

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#1
Hi everyone;
I'm still trying to customize my Vista. Currently using "Classic View". I'm dealing with two issues but I'll limit this thread to just one.

Does anyone know how to increase the text/icon size of the start menu and all programs list without affecting the size of everything else in Vista? My old tired eyes would like this one feature to be a little bigger. I've already put programs in folders so too large of a display is not an issue as long as it doesn't affect other functions.

Basic regestry edits don't bother me but I can't seem to locate the keys. I've already looked into some free Vista tweak programs as well as tweak guides. Vista being so new there is not as much info. I used to know how to deal with Windows.

I'll post on organizing the All Programs list at another time. Still trying things with that.
It's late. I'm tired. I'll check back;
RandyL
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#2
hi randyl i will take a look when i get home on my vista, to see if it can indeed be done.
i will post back my findings ASAP.
late what time is it there then its 1.30 in the afternoon in goog old gloucestershire.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#3
backup your registry obviously before tinkering..
im not sure of the vista reg entry try
HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Explorer/Advanced

Double click Start_LargeMFUIcons and then modfy the data value.that make work,,,make sure system restore has a last checkpoint saved so you can recover incase.
regards
danzil.
i am not home at the mo i will try the reg entrie on mine,then post a reg file so you can just merge it if need be.
speak to ya soon randyl
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#4
may help http://www.totalidea.com/content/tweakvi/tweakvi-down.php
i know in xp to change start menu to your own custome settings like u need, i had to create a copy of explorer.exe then use a hex editor to change fonts, names,icon etc rename it to something else like explorer1.exe.
then point winlogon to it via the registry.this maybe the only way in vista.
im not sure if the new security improvements in vista will allow this.
i will have a go when i have time then post back.
not sure if gpedit.msc will help,but might
here is how to do the simple mod in xp
http://www.overclockersclub.com/guides/xpstartbutton.php
regards
danzil.
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#5
Hi danzil;
I'll look into what you have provided. I tried tweakvi but didn't see what I wanted. The grandson is here so I can't do it at the moment. I really appreciate the effort.

It was about 5 or 6 in the morning in Nebraska when I posted. That's late even for me. That's what 30 years of working the night shift will do. Recently retired but still stuck on keeping the same hours. I've seen you here at some late hours for you a few times too.

Once again thanks. I'll let you know how it goes;
RandyL
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#6
Hi again danzil;
I tried the registry change and even tried changing the MinMFUIcons. I even tried re-booting afterwards. Alas no luck. There is no gpedit.msc in Vista Home Premium. As for the last link I don't think that's going to work. There's some dead links on that site too.

So I decided to go back and change the dpi settings again. Right click the desktop>Personalize>Adjust font size (DPI). I changed it from the dafault 96% to 110%. I might adjust it slightly lower though.

I had changed this before when I first got Vista. I changed it back because I was installing a lot of programs at the time. Some program installation apps. couldn't render right for Vista at any setting above 96%. I had to change back just to see the next step of the installations.

The other issues were that it also changed the sizing of many other things. But that's not all bad. And not all good. Task bar icons are bigger which I like. The whole taskbar is displayed larger which I don't care for. Context menus are bigger which I like. Windows toolbars, icons and Windows apps. are bigger which I like. Of course I have to resize down desktop and folder icons slightly again by using my scroll mouse.

In any case I think I can live with the balance now. At least I can see things better again. If I have to temporarily change back to install an older program it's no big deal.

In older versions of Wndows it was much easier to change settings and I had more COMPLETE control over customizing even if I needed to change a few registry keys. Don't even get me started on IE7 toolbar customizations.

Even though I'm running in one of the classic options (I can still use aeroglass) some options are still not available for any version like they used to be. Windows Me was great once configured properly. That took some work. I ran it for 7 years with no re-install.

It's been about 5 or 6 months with Vista now. What a change. Eventually I'll get it configured more to my liking instead of Microsofts. Stay tuned for new threads. I do have a couple more questions on customizing Vista and IE7. I do use Firefox quite a bit now. It has its merits.

Thanks again and I hope this thread might help others in the future.
4:30am here danzil. Take care good buddy;
RandyL