• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Want to upgrade graphics

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi new to all this and bought a desktop which is fine for internet browsing, email etc but when i try to play games (empire total war) its a bit slow. The system is acer 3641 uk version with vista home premium 32 bit. cpu is core2 quad q6600. 640 hard drive and i think 3 gig of ram. from what i understand it has integrated graphics on the motherboard (NVIDIA GeForce 7100/nforce 630i - not sure what motherboard. what i need to ask is if and what i can upgrade to graphics card wise without increasing power to obtain better results with games.

any help would be most appreciated
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Location
South Africa
Hi

Welcome to Free PC Help.

I am not from the UK so i cant advise on prices or shops but a few things we need to know:

1. What is the budget you are thinking of?
2. What PSU do you have?

Some of the other mods can then advise what shops will be best.
 

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
budget is perhaps around the £100 - £150 struggling on psu as i cant find information anywhere so perhaps i need to take the case to bits
 

DirtyPolo

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Location
West Midlands
PC Experience
I am guessing that this is your system, but with a Quad core as you said in your post.

Aspire M3641

Your system will fit a 9800GT

But unforutnatly the minimum power supply you need for that card is 400W.

I would also suggets looking at ATI cards, this is because you get alot more for your money.

The reason for this is as follows:

The ATI contender for the Nvidia 9800GT, is the ATI Radeon HD4850 [the card that I personally have]

Both cards are around the same price, but the ATI gives out more graphical power, as shown by Nvidia's own tool to check how fast your system will be with the chosen card if it was in your machine, and it showed that if I swapped my HD4850 for a 9800GT, it would actually lower the performance.

So overall, I would chosoe the ATI HD4850 which can be found for about £100 cheapest, about the same price as the 9800GT, and they both need around 450W minimum power supply.

Hope this helps and wasn't too confusing.
 

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
thanks for everyones help now scouring for new psu and HD4850 neither looks very hard to change even for a novice like me but think i might get one those anti static straps. cheers will let you know how i get on!!!!
 

DirtyPolo

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Location
West Midlands
PC Experience
Can you please confirm if that PC that I linked to in my post is yours?

You will have to click on the "Aspire M3641" when the page opens up.
 

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
yes that is the one as i said Q6600 640 hard drive and when i had a look 250W. why is there a problem before i go rushing out?

let me know please
 

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Dalo

I have a samsung syncmaster T220 (22 inch). Only really got one so far empire total war but am wanting to play a few more and thats why i wanted to know if i dould upgrade
 

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
thanks for the advice i have upgraded the psu today to 800W may be a bit of overkill but it wasnt much more than a 600w which i was considering, had a look inside the case and know what i need to do, next mission will be to order a graphics card and then get it fitted thanks again for everyones help.
 

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
Sorry couldnt wait so had to go to local shop and bought a 9800gt 512mb ddr 3 etc cost a little more than at play.com but to be honest i couldnt wait. No major problems just had a little problem with (i think sata leads to mobo) they got in the way a little and i had to move one of the hard disks but everything works fine and for the first time i could actually play a game. thank you very much to everyone and i shall read some posts everyday to get ideas for upgrades
 

Match

Free PC Help Tech Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2009
Hi Lancer

Don't blame you I have Empire total war for a week now just can't get enough time to play it :cool:

If you have any problems with installing it, IE Steam and fixed IP address feel free to ask :)
 

lancer9038

FPCH Contributor
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Location
sheffield
PC Experience
Beginner
thanks maynardvdm downoaled and still fine. I have never had a game play so well i cant believe the difference once again thanks for everyones advice
 
Top Bottom