• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

struggling

Elite FPCH Contributor
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Goku, in another thread, was trying to help me with my non-functioning Scanner&Camera Wizard. He set me up with the "fix camera wizard". I ran that and still could not find the wizard. I'm starting this new thread because the other had become populated with too many issues.

I then started wondering if it's still even on my computer. I looked in all programs, in ad and remove programs, and did a search for it. Is there anywhere else I need to look?

The reason I'm wondering if it's gone is that when I had the computer formatted in the shop a while back it came back missing some rather important files.

Forgive this newbie's ignorance, please. But where else would I look, and how can I re-install it if I need to replace it?
 

BeeCeeBee

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
I am only going to ask one silly question and then leave this to Goku to sort. When you try to access the wizard is the camera turned on and plugged into the PC with its usb cable?
 

struggling

Elite FPCH Contributor
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Silly, indeed, beeceebee! :D Answer is yes. Actually, I quit using the camera directly a long time ago, when I acquired a card reader. Much faster and easier, and saves camera battery. It plugs into the port, I stick the memory card in the end of it and there's the wizard. Always worked great -- until now.
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
OK Struggling, I will try to help you fix this problem first before turning my attention to your other problem as this one is comparatively easier to resolve.

Please download the attached archive and extract it. If you are unsure on how to open the archive, use the instructions from here and continue. After you have extracted the archive, you should obtain a file labeled Fix Camera Wizard.reg. Double-click on the file and you will be asked whether you want to import the information into the registry or not. Answer Yes to the prompt and sometime later another dialog box will pop up informing you that the operation was successful. After you have done the above, reboot your computer.

Note: Please create a backup of your registry before you perform any of the above changes. It will ensure that you can revert your computer to working condition if anything goes wrong.

Please perform the above procedure Struggling. I have changed the file's code to add some other registry keys which are responsible for the automation of the wizard. Please perform the fix and see if it resolves the problem or not. Make sure your camera is unplugged while you are applying the fix.

Also, I will download the tool from Microsoft and comment on its usage when I have more time. Please wait for further instructions while I do that.

Hope that helps. :)

-- Goku
 

struggling

Elite FPCH Contributor
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Sorry, Goku, that I haven't gotten back to you. I'm still having a real mess dealing with the issue in the other thread --trouble with My Documents. PC's going really wicky-wacky again, in spite of my constant scanning for spy and mal ware. I'm trying to get that problem over there resolved before I continue here. Thanks for your patience.
 

struggling

Elite FPCH Contributor
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
I'm back, Goku (finally!) I guess I won't have to download your archive. The dust has settled, following my big fight with malware, spyware, and whatever else got into this machine and made it go crazy.

And guess what's back? The Scanner and Camera Wizard !!! :D I don't know whether the infections had anything to do with it or not. But now, as soon as I plug in the card reader the Wizard pops up and I can either view or copy the photos to the computer. The same is true in both my old ("owner") account and in my new ("name") account.

I know one thing for sure. I'm going to work DAILY to keep this thing clean. I'm now running SuperAntiSpy (free), SpySweeper (paid), McAfee (paid), and have access to Malwarebytes. I hope that covers all the bases. Please let me know if you think I'm missing anything.

Thanks for your interest and your help.
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
Glad you got it resolved Struggling. Feel free to ask any more doubts or queries you may have. :)

-- Goku
 
Top Bottom