• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

what to do?

fraufreda

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
16
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#1
i removed my hdd from my old pc and installed it in the new one. i installed winxp into it successfully. now i have installed it back into the old one but i can't log into windows.
the reason of doing so was that i had problems installing xp in the old one after formating it restarted by itself so i thought it was either a problem with hdd or the ram.
how to log into windows. can i do recovery console? i dont want to do reformating and reinstalling because of the difficulties mentioned and also with the unability for the cd rom to read the cd (old and dusty). is it because the devices installed in each computers are different?
any suggestions
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#2
Hi fraufreda;
Yes. You will need to reinstall. Can you clean the cd drive or swap it with the one from your new computer?

If it still keeps restarting post back on that issue.
Why did you reinstall on the old one to begin with.

RandyL
 

fraufreda

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
16
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#3
windows NT has not found enough extended memory. 7MB of extended memory is required to run windows NT. you may need to upgrade your computer or run a configuration program provided by the manufacturer.
memory map:
00000000-000A0000
00100000-003F0000
-----------------------------------
how to clean it (RAM or slot)?
i managed to install xp with one of the RAMs. but when i get them both i get that messege.
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#4
Some PCs need to have the RAM in specific slots and some times it needs to be paired memory.

Try removing one and booting again, if that does not work then we may need to know more information about the specific hardware you have.

MFG/Model
 

fraufreda

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
16
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#5
i managed to install them and winxp successfully but it stuck now and then (sometimes restarts by itself)
i have anticrash program. does it help diagnose the problem and overcome it?.
and im just wondering if disabling windows update may cause any harm to the computer
i disabled it by typing in cmd net stop wuauserv. i'll just suffice wit anti virus to protect my pc
what do you think?
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#6
Hi fraufreda;
Can you clarify for us?
Did the install with just one memory go OK?
Are you still using one?
Did you put the other back in?
Did the problem resurface after putting the second one in?

Antivirus alone is not enough. You need an antispyware program and a running firewall too.
I "think" you just disabled automatic updates for Windows. If so get them manually by going to the update site. Very important.

RandyL
 

fraufreda

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
16
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#7
at first i did it with one ram in but the computer still restarted and stuck after the installation of windows. i also put the other ram and the computer didnt show any ram errors and i could do shutdow/restart without any problem unlike before but the prblem of restarting by itself and getting stuck continued. i got the updates from windows update but while installing them it restarted by itself and the color after that is lost (white frames around the icons and on tool bar) i read some articles and tried to solve the problem but couldnt so i formated my pc and installed windoes again but at this time both rams were in however the problem continued and thats why i was asking if getting the computer updated was necessary coz im afraid if i do it and restarting happens while the updates being installed i may lose the colours and need to reformat my pc again.
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#8
Hi again;
I'm still leaning toward this being a memory problem. I have seen low memory in old dos systems like ME and 98 cause the color issue on the taskbar and toolbar. I had ME and it would do it when free resources dropped too low. I really taxed my systems at times.

XP of course is not dos and handles memory different but if both sticks are bad or failing or incompatable this might be the cause of all your issues. Windows updates most likely is not the issue. Remember you got memory errors on the install.

Wait a bit for other opinions. But you might need new memory.

RandyL
 

fraufreda

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
16
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#9
actually as i said ive got 2 sd-128 rams. the old one worked very well but the new (that i've just bought) is second hand and at first when i put them together the problem started i couldnt log into windows i formated and installed windows but couldnt contnue installation so i figured it was a ram issue. i replaced the new one with another and then i did what i said in my last 2 posts
 
W

Wolfeymole

#10
i removed my hdd from my old pc and installed it in the new one. i installed winxp into it successfully. now i have installed it back into the old one but i can't log into windows.
I'm not sure this is a memory issue at all Freda but the simple fact that XP cannot recognise the new hardware in the old machine.
You can't just put a hard drive that has had XP installed on it in another machine.
Completely reinstall XP on the drive in the old machine.
Try and obtain 2 x 256mb sticks that are definitely known to work also.
 

fraufreda

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
16
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#11
thanks to all your replies. i solved the problem. i downloaded anticrash and did a thorough scan and since then there haven't been any problems no restarts no sticking