• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Windows does not recognize the new HDD

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi,
Hope you can help I am at the end of my tether (nearly).

I have a HP Compaq notebook which originally had XP on it. I have upgraded to Vista then latter to windows 7 sometime last year.
I recently had problems with the hard drive, it would not load windows at all.
I ended up sanitizing the hard drive (wished I hadn't) then tried to re-format it without much success.
I have had 3 long and tortuous sessions with HP support in India who have sent me 2 disks: Application & Driver recovery DVD and a Windows Vista (Business) for reinstallation.
Loading the files did not work.
Running the recovery did not work.
Running start-up recovery did not work.

HP support sent me a new HDD which I have installed but I am still getting the same messages: Checksum file does not match the computers checksum file.
and this message after I ran the XP setup disk:
Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer
Make sure any HDD are powered on and properly connected to your computer and that any disk related hardware configuration is correct. This may involve running a manufacture-supplied diagnostic or setup programme.

I have run the HP HDD test and it says it’s OK.
I have been told that Windows installation software does not recognise a new HDD even if the HP software does.

Do I need to re-format?
How can I do this?

I would be most gratefully for any help.

Thanks.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
Hi,

I am a bit confused.

then latter to windows 7
after I ran the XP setup disk:
Windows Vista (Business)
You have mentioned 3 Operating Systems - which one are you trying to install ?

Why would HP support provide you with a Vista (business) disk when you had Win7 ?
You must have had a Vista disk to upgrade from XP.

So do you have:
XP disk
Vista disk x 2
Win 7 disk
???

========================

Do I need to re-format?
Reformat??
You say you have not been able to install any OS so how can you reformat?

=========================

HP support also sent you a new HDD. Is this machine still under waranty ?

=========================

Is this HDD an IDE or SATA drive?
If IDE - have you set the jumper to "master" setting ?

=========================

Does the drive show up in the BIOS ?
 

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken,

Thanks for replying, yes it does sound a bit confusing doesn’t it!
On the old HDD i originally had XP some years later I upgraded to Vista and about 18 months after this I upgraded to Windows 7.
However I sanitized this hard drive as I couldn’t get it to load windows at all.
I attempted then to run a vista recovery disk from HP support. I got the HDD formatted and some empty windows folders showed up on the main disk '0'.
But because it would not load properly they sent me a new hard disk drive.
Now I decided to try to load an original XP disk (as the others I had were upgrades) but after loading the files the error message I get is it cannot find the Hard Disk Drive.
I thought that the XP disk would reformat the hard drive in order to load the files but it didn’t.
I have been told that windows has a problem recognising the HDD even when HP software recognises it’s there (which it does).
It is a SATA RAW (which means nothing to me I am afraid).
No its not under warranty and I’m not sure why they are sending me parts! Perhaps they feel sorry for me!
Yes it shows up I think because I ran the HP HDD self-test and all tests came up OK.
Many thanks for offering advice.
Kathi
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
So you are trying to install from the original XP disk?

If so,

Switch on and you will be prompted to "Press DEL [or other key] to Enter Setup"
(you have to be fairly quick)
This will give you access to the BIOS.

You are lookingfor Boot Sequence / Boot Order or similar.

Make sure that the CDROM is the first boot device.
You will get information on screen on how to move it up the order if necessary.
Don't forget to press F10 ( again prompted on screen ) to Save.

Please confirm.
 

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken,

Thanks for your help.

I have many time been thriught this sequence. The BIOS is set to CD 1st Optical drive 2nd
I have the XP disk in place, not the original one as it came with XP alredy installed and no disck. It does load the files OK but at the end it give the error message:

Set up did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer.

Make sure any hard disc drives are powered on properly connected to your computer and that any disc related hardware configuration is correct.

This may involve running a manufacturer supplied diagnostic or setup programme.

Set up cannot continue.

When there is no disc to boot from I get this message:
The file is possibly corrupt. The file header ‘checksum’ does not match the computer checksum.

I cannot work out if the problem is with the XP disc refusing to format the HDD in order to load the files (with the old HDD I did get the Vista disk to load folders then it got stuck) This disk doesn't even register the hard drive at all.

Many thanks for your help,

Kathi
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
Hi,

This is an unformatted drive.

You need to create a partition first before you format it.

You didn't say how big the drive is.

You can create 1,2 or 3 partitions if you wish ( The number is up to you ).
If you are unsure - create 1.

You should get a screen that looks like this:


At this point you need to press "C"

Then, when prompted, format NTFS.

If you can't get this far - you probably need to install SATA controllers ( XP !! )
See here for good explanation:
http://www.proposedsolution.com/solutions/windows-xp-setup-setup-did-not-find-any-hard-disk-drives/
 
Last edited:

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken,
Just to update you on my progress:
I now have tried to install the Vista Business restore disk that HP support sent me as it did previously format the HDD and set up folders on the drive.
The files seemed to load Ok but I chose to run the 'repair my computer option as I was hoping it may detect any HDD errors and sort them before reformatting or loading the OS.
On windows system recovery options:
These are the option I had to repair:
MS Windows Vista: Partition size: 76316 Location: (C ) Local Drive
Windows Vista ™ Business (recovered): Partition size: 76316 Location: (C ) Local Drive

(this looks like there is no partition and both OS’s are on the same drive) Can I remove one of these while in the repair stage of installing an OS?)

I choose to do a system repair on the MS Windows Vista :

It ran the check and gave this saying 'repairing Disk Errors'.

Startup Repair diagnosis and repair log:
Number of repair attempts 1
Session details:
System disk = \Device\Harddisk0
Windows directory = C:\Windows
AutoChk Run = 0
Number of root causes = 1

Test performed

System volume on disk is corrupt.

Repair action: File system repair (chkdsk)
Result: completed successfully, Error code = 0x0



Restarted and the same error appears:
The file is possibly corrupt. The file checksum does not match the computed checksum.

Does this have anything to do with the HDD not being portioned? Or that there are 2 OS's on now?
I have had this message with both HDD's so it must relate to the hardware I think?
Any advice would be welcome.

Kind regards

Kathi
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
Hi Kathi,

I can't keep track on where this is going.

You cannot have an Operating System on unallocated space ( no partition ).

System volume on disk is corrupt.
The HDD needs formatting and start over.

Let's forget XP and go with your Vista Business.

Put the new HDD in.

Put the disk in the drive and switch on.
You need to do a complete recovery - not a repair.

If you are prompted to create a partition do so.
You need a partition on the drive in order to format and install the OS.
 

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken,

Thanks,

I have put in the new HDD

I have tried to run the Vista businessdvd.

but now all I get (with any disk) is the file is corrupt. the header checkum does not match the computed checksum.

I dont see anyway to load any disk even though I have cd option as 1st boot.

Kathi
 

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
I had previously gone to F10 on startup and did a startup check and was given the error message : replace disk drive 1.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
Hi Kathi,

Coming back to this:
it would not load windows at all.
This could have been due to a corrupt / broken HDD or it could have been related to something else.

You say that you "sanitised the drive".
Effectively you wiped it clean?

You have 2 Hard drives that both give you the same error message:
file is corrupt. the header checkum does not match the computed checksum.
I can understand one HDD packing up - but a new one out of the box with the same problem .....................very unlikely.

Try this for me please:
Take the RAM out and put just one stick back.

Try the installation disk now.
If you get the same error message - swap the RAM for the other one.
( I am wondering if the RAM was the original problem )
 

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Thanks Ken I will try that and let you know.
(That's as long as you can cope with all this?)

Kathi
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
I have the XP disk in place, not the original one as it came with XP alredy installed and no disck.
Maybe that is a clue. I'm not sure. What type of XP disk is this. If it's a recovery disk that did not come with your computer it would not match your hardware possibly.

Can you tell us what it says on the disk and what is the exact model and number of your HP/Compaq?
 

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken,

I took out one RAM and got a selection of options along the bottom:
Chose F10 to check BIOS options and set CD DVD as 1st- Optical drive 2nd - Notebook Hdd 3rd
Resarted and got the Checksum error again.

Changed the RAM and restarted: Got a black screen with no error messages or options at all.

Checked the RAM again and found they were not fitted securely, fitted again.
Took out the one that gave the blank screen.

Run Startup check
Failed:
Status = Replace Hard Disk 1

I checked the HDD and ensured it was fitted securely.

Restarted again.

Got the Checksum error again.

Rebooted with F10 option and ran the starup check
Failed:
Replace Hard Disk 1

What else can I try?

Thanks for your help.

Kathi
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
Maybe that is a clue.......
Thanks for the input Randy.
I had registered that earlier but we are getting the same problem with Vista too.

kathi,
I would be inclined to connect the new drive to another machine - find it in disk manager - format it from there.

Is this an option ?
All you would need to do would be to take the drive and cable and connect it to a SATA port on the second machine's motherboard.
Add a power connector.
Switch on and type in .......diskmgmt.msc.......ENTER.
You should be able to see the drive here.
It may show as Disk1 ........[ Disk 0 is the original drive ]

If you can do this there is nothing wrong with the HDD.
 
Last edited:

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken
I have now access to the files on the drives which I think might be causing a problem:
Local Disk
NTFS
12.2 GB used
62.3 GB free space
C: drive



There are 2 hard Disk drives identified when ’loading drivers’ option taken on installing Vista Business DVD.

Local Disk (C:) This has the following folders:
1) $WINDOWS.-BT
2) Users
3) Windows.old
4) Program Files
5) Windows
6) Windows.old.001


Boot: (X) 30.8 MB free of 33.2 MB (this has windows files loaded on it too)

When I try to delete some of these (old files) from C: some are deleted but others give an error code 0x80070570: 'The file or directory is corrupt and unreadable.

I have tried to format the C: drive but told I cannot format it while I have Windows running.
But the only way I can get to see this option is via the installation of Vista.

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help and great patience!

Kathi
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
Hi kathi

Are you saying that you can now boot up ?

How many hard drives do you have connected?

Is this the old drive that you are refering to here ?

1) $WINDOWS.-BT
2) Users
3) Windows.old
4) Program Files
5) Windows
6) Windows.old.001
This looks as if you have 3 incidences of Windows installed and 1 failed attempt.

Are you still getting the same error message when you try to boot from the Vista disk ?
 

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken,

This is the new HDD.

I have managed to run the Vista Business DVD again, done this many time but all attempts ended in failure to set up saying no changes would be made to my computer. But it looks like every time the folders were delvered but set up not completed.

I can only get to see these folders and drives by running the repair option on startup.
So I cant reformat to clear out the old folders and I dont know which version is on the
Boot: (X) 30.8 MB free of 33.2 MB (this has windows files loaded on it too)

Maybe the windows files on the Boot: x (whatever that is) do not match the new windows files on th C drive?

Any ideas?

This is what it happening:

I start the computer: Checksum error shows

ctrl. alt. del: vista files start to load from DVD but never complete the process. The error message at the end says corrupt file they cannot load and bno changes will be made.

If I choose Sytem recovery I get no options in the box to choose from (as no OS has been loaded properly) and it suggests I load drivers. I have spent hours trying to load drivers from the windows files on the X: drive and from the repair disc sent by HP suppot but none of these make any differens that I can see.

Many thanks

Kathi
 
Last edited:

kathi

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Location
Worcestershire, England
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi Ken

Just to update you.

I have now managed to format the C: drive from the DOS prompt.

I am hoping a fresh install may do the trick but perhaps I need to check the files on the
Boot: (X) first to see if they hold a different OS?

Many thanks for you help!

Kathi
 
Top Bottom