• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Windows Error Recovery

karltin

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
Hi.

My DVD drive was not reading any of the discs that I've put in. I have restarted a lot of times but the problem still persisted. I go to My Computer to open the drive from there but it ends up not responding to the point when my laptop froze. I had to turn the power off when this happened because I couldn't reboot the proper way.

This was the screen when my laptop was turned back on.

FIRST SCREEN

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:

1. Insert your Windows installation disc and restart
2. Choose language..
3. Click "repair your computer"

If you do not have the disc, contact your system administraton...

File:\Windows\system32\config\system

Status: 0xc000000e9

Info: Windows failed to load because the system registry file is mmissing, corrupt.


I press ENTER and this comes up:

SECOND SCREEN
Choose an operating system to start, or press TAB to select a tool:

Microsoft Windows Vista (this is highlighted)

To specify an advance option for this choice, press F8

Tools:

Windows Memory Diagnostic



I choose the highlighted option and this comes up:


THIRD SCREEN

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:

1. Insert your Windows installation disc and restart
2. Choose language..
3. Click "repair your computer"
Other options:
If power was interrupted during startup, choose start windows normally

Safe mode
Safe mode with networking
Safe mode with COmmand prompt
Last known good configuration (advanced)
Satrt windows normally (this is highlighted)


Every time I choose ENTER or any of the highlighted options it jsut goes back to any of the 3 screens above.
I tried my installation disc but my DVD driver does not work.

OS is Vista. I dont know what else to give you other than this information I can get when I go on BIOS setup.
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.20Ghz
VGA BIOS version Intel V1706
System BIOS version V1.06
Acer Aspire 4736

Would really appreciate all help and suggestions. Thanks!!!


 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#2
Hi and welcome to FpcH

Thanks for the very detailed post - it certainly helps :)

What doesn't help is the fact that your DVD Drive is not functioning.
I think you would have had a working computer by now if it was.

Switch on and tap F8 about once per second.
This will take you to the Advanced Startup Options

Safe mode
Safe mode with networking
Safe mode with COmmand prompt
Last known good configuration (advanced)
Satrt windows normally (this is highlighted)

Click on "Last Known Good Configuration" if you haven't tried this yet.
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Lancashire
#3
This sounds a lot like the DVD drive itself has gone faulty and is now preventing Windows from starting up. The only way now is to remove that CD/DVD drive from the laptop, then try again.
Being a laptop, I will only suggest doing that yourself if confident in the small amount of dismantling needed.
I don't know that model myself, but quite often the drives are only held in with a couple of screws with sometimes a removable panel underneath.

Edited to add,
Just seen Ken has beat me to it, try his suggestions first, and let us know how you get on

Nev.
 

karltin

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
#4
Hi KenB. Thanks for the quick response.

I have done F8 and tried Last known good configuration, but it still goes back to one of those screens. Whatever I choose it goes back to any of the screens.

I forgot to add that the laptop was dropped a week ago, but there was no problem since then. Not until yesterday when I tried to burn a CD. Like what I said, it kept on freezing every time a cd was in, that's why I turned off the power button.
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Lancashire
#6
OK, before going down the rout of dismantling, one other thing to try is to go into the BIOS and find the boot order, if as I suspect, the CD/DVD drive is first, move the boot order to the hard drive first, try that and let us know how you go on.

Nev.
 

karltin

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
#7
OK, before going down the rout of dismantling, one other thing to try is to go into the BIOS and find the boot order, if as I suspect, the CD/DVD drive is first, move the boot order to the hard drive first, try that and let us know how you go on.

Nev.
Boot priority order:

Optiarc DVD RW
IDEO
USB FDD
Network Boot
USB HDD
USBCDROM

Which one needs to be first? And do I just move the Optiarc DVD RW right at the bottom?
 
Last edited:

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#8
Crossing posts again Nev :)

The technical manual for your laptop is here
click here

Page 60 explains how to remove the DVD Drive.
It would be good if you could take it out so that we can try Nev's suggestion of booting without it.

It looks like just one screw holds it in place.

Which one needs to be first?
The one you have.

There is an option to boot from a USB DVD Drive that may prove useful.
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Lancashire
#11
All you should need to do in boot order is move the IDEO, which is the hard drive, up to the top of the list.
If that doesn't work, the CD/DVD drive should be removed and try again, on the off chance that Windows has become corrupted, and needs the disk to either repair or reinstall, I suggest that if possible, to get the drive checked out to be sure it is faulty. No point buying a new one if the fault is elsewhere at this point.

I am going off line now, so will leave my friend Ken to carry on, all the best with it.

Nev.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#12
All you should need to do in boot order is move the IDEO, which is the hard drive, up to the top of the list.
Sorry Nev - you are correct :)

karltin
Nev is suggesting that you try bypassing the DVD DRive and boot straight from the Hard Drive.
This is worth a try.
 

karltin

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
#13
I got the drive out before I saw your replies. So it's out now, and I also moved IDEO to the top of the list. No change, still the same black screens.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#14
Without a DVD Drive there is little we can do.

Options:

1. Get the drive checked by a good local tech ( NOT PC World ) to see if it has died.

2. Buy a replacement and save on the cost of checking the drive. You can obviously fit this yourself.

3. Recover data / files etc from the Hard Drive - just in case.


I suggest that if you have any important stuff on the hard drive that you get it off.
If we end up repairing / reinstalling you could / will lose data.

We need a working DVD Drive to attempt to repair the Operating System.

Where do you wish to go from here?

EDIT:
Thinking about it - we can run a check on the drive if you decide to recover data first.
 

karltin

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
#15
Thanks for the replies!

I would like to recover data first. I have a partition disk. Can that be saved as well?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,077
Location
Wirral UK
#16
I have a partition disk. Can that be saved as well?
It is possible that after we run a checkdisk on the drive you may be able to boot up with no loss of data and maintaining the structure of the disk.
In other works - keep the partitions.

If we have to use recovery disks - this will reset everything back to factory settings. If the disk was partitioned when you bought it then there will be no problem.

If you take the wanted data off both - just to be safe - even if we lose the partition it is possible to re-create it again if we manage to sort out the booting problem.

===================

To take the data off the drive you will need to connect it to another computer via the USB port.
(there are other ways but this is the simplest)

Use the technical manual ( previous link ) to remove the drive.
Check which type it is.
click here

If it is SATA there is a cheap enclosure here:
click here
Postage is £1 I think.
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Lancashire
#17
Firstly thanks Ken for carrying on, though it was your thread to start off with:D

To sort of reinforce all that Ken has said, let's try to be making a list of things now to do.
First is to remove the hard drive now that the CD/DVD drive is already out and acquire a caddy or adapter for data ecovery and if needed hard drive diagnosis.
Secondly, to find a local reputable repairer who can check out the CD/DVD drive while waiting for the hard drive caddy or adapter.

If it turns out that the CD/DVD drive is faulty, you will need to replace it, hopefully the repairer may be able to get one at a reasonable price that is a fit for your laptop. Ask him for a quote to compare with what you can find elsewhere, locally or on line.

Once you have the caddy and can connect the hard drive to another computer, let us know and we can take it from there.

One thing not yet mentioned, but depends on what is available on another computer which you are going to use to recover the data.
If the hard drive is SATA, (check as per links provided by Ken), and there is a spare SATA port on the motherboard of the working computer. If there is a spare port, all you will need is a short lead and connect the hard drive directly into the working computer. Data can be rescued and the hard drive checked out from there.

Let us know how you get on and if any difficulties.
Nev.