• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

pcwontwork

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
PC Experience
Some Experience
I don't actually know whether that title is right, you see a couple of days ago my p.c was working fine.

I was messing about 1 day in the BIOS settings looking for a way of overclocking my machine. I went downstairs leaving the BIOS screen open, and my little sister :mad: Started messing around in this screen (Shes 4).. I returned in time to see part of the message that flashed up before it died.. It partly read something along the lines of...

''The value you have changed.. computer won't boot up past startup screen... BIOS settings changed''

I didn't quite catch the rest of the message, and now everytime I try to fire up my machine i get nowhere, it just stops on the PackardBell screen, nothing I do works, I hit ESC to swap screens to see what's booting up.. and it tells me it's counting my physical memory and that it's 'ok'.

I hit F2 for system BIOS and it just doens't listen, carries on with the PackarBell screen, Hitting F8 doesn't work either, I've tried rebooting through the c.d but i can't get the computer to load far enough.

I'm thinking something in the BIOS has been changed therefore hindering the processor, BIOS or something i'm none to familiar with from booting.

I need some help pronto on this one as i can't go without the computer because it's used for work too.

I'm running Windows XP Pro, anything else you need to know, dont desitate to ask.

I've got appx 42 minutes left on the computer i'm using! Thanks... I'll give my mobile number out to anyone who thinks they can help me step by step. :D
 
Last edited:

DirtyPolo

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Location
West Midlands
PC Experience
Hey there,
I'm afraid we cant give out personal one-to-one help offline.

What make is your mobo, and do you know what BIOS you are running?

Others will be able to help you more, but they may need these details in advance.
 
W

Wolfeymole

Kids eh :rolleyes:

So you can't get into the bios whatsoever is that correct?

You could try pulling the motherboard battery for 10 minutes then reinstalling it to see if it will reset the bios defaults.
 

pcwontwork

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
PC Experience
Some Experience
Ahh right, stuff it.

Errmm, i believe the BIOS is Award Medallion? If that makes any sense, I know a little about computers, but i'm afraid only in the areas in which i've messed about with, memory, graphics, storage, cooling etc.

The computer started out as an IMedia 551 from Packard Bell.
 

pcwontwork

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
PC Experience
Some Experience
Kids eh :rolleyes:

So you can't get into the bios whatsoever is that correct?

You could try pulling the motherboard battery for 10 minutes then reinstalling it to see if it will reset the bios defaults.
Yeh, ermmm... Maybe I don't know that much about the computer then lol.

Which one would that be, i've taught myself on my computer you see.. I've got a gigabyte motherboard if that helps!
 

pcwontwork

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
PC Experience
Some Experience
Fantastic, I know which one!

So when I remove this and replace it'll refresh the BIOS. or just reset it?

No, it doens't let me into anything, Let alone BIOS! Thanks guys!
 
W

Wolfeymole

It may do or it may not mate, I don't know just how far you went on the oc'ing. :(
 

pcwontwork

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
PC Experience
Some Experience
I didn't overclock at all, was justy having a little root around! motherboard is pretty much standard, as is processor. Only thing's uprated are pretty much cooling on the processor, sound card and graphics card!
 

pcwontwork

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
PC Experience
Some Experience
Fantastic, i'm not on again till tomorrow otherwise, so if this works i'll post up tonight telling everyone how awesome and prompt you guys are! Thanks again!
 

pcwontwork

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
PC Experience
Some Experience
Guys, I can't thank you enough. I did exactly as you said and within no time the computer was back up and running as normal!

Brilliant service! Thanks again! :D
 
W

Wolfeymole

Hey that's great to hear, thanks for getting back to us and letting us know. :thumb:
 
Top Bottom