• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Windows XP pro: Does not like to search

Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Somewhere West of Hell
#1
Before I get my fat <AWLMST> out of here, I need some help with a problem in WinXP I have not been able to figure out.

I try not to spend alot of time in 'doze, but when I do load it up to use Dreamweaver and what not I get errors, and not the usual run of the mill built in errors.

When I atempt to use the search function in windows explorer I get a Error Report Box. You guys know the one. It gives you absolutely no information about the error, just that it wants to report it to daddy.

If you close, send or dont send the error report Explorer.exe restarts. If you ignore the error report completely and go on to the search it works just fine. In fact the whole computer works just fine with the exception of having an error report dialog that you have to move around all the time.

My first thought is Malware of some sort. So I fired up Avast!, A-Squared, and SpyBot-SD. A-S and SB found a few things, cookies and registry settings mostly, but nothing serious. Avast! came up clean. So now I am very confused.

This is a roughly new install of windows (about one month old). Even with how quickly registrys seem to get corrupted, that seems a bit much. I don't know enough about windows to track down the problem. Anyone got an idea of whats going on?
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#2
Maybe the Event Viewer will shed light onto what's happening.

Go to Start / Control Panel and double click the ADMINSITRATIVE TOOL; then double click EVENT VIEWER and take a look around.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Somewhere West of Hell
#3
Source: Application Error
Category: None
Type: Error
Event ID: 1000

Disc:
Faulting Application explorer.exe, version 6.0.2900.3156, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x0324d935


Puts me back where I was. No Clue what's going on. :(

Why cant windows simply output the file and line the error was encountered at like resonable OS's?
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#4
I agree - the error message says nothing. And I have no clue either. Can someone else chime in here?
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#5
If it's the one I think it is, it is a known issue. Microsoft has a patch for it. Basically if you can just go to the windows update site and do a scan and do all the critical updates and it should fix it.

If not or you can't run the window update then let us know and I'll see if I can track down the exact article number and you can download via Firefox.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Somewhere West of Hell
#6
should be completely up to date, but with 15 critical windows updates a day, you never know. Running internment exploiter now. I will let you know if it fixes the problem.

EDIT: What do you know, 19 updates. Installing now. This means I got to restart this POS now? *Gets jumper cables*
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#9
Oh... I'm sorry. I read your post as Internet Explorer, not Windows Explorer (my fault).

Well that could prove to be quite a difficult issue to correct as many things could cause it.
It could be a corrupted font, a trojan on the system, some misconfigured items in the Registry.

Can probably only really offer the following which I ***ume you've probably already done.

CHKDSK C: /F
Delete all temporary files from %TEMP% and C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
Disable Antivirus/Anti-Malware programs and see if the issue still exists or not.
Disable Indexing
Disable any other indexers like the one from Nero
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Somewhere West of Hell
#10
Common mistake. Should have been more clear in my posts.

The only one I have not tried is disabling the indexing. Will try that now. Come to think about it, with....oh your god, 5 physical drives, (split into about 10 partitions) 3 large flash drives and various other storeage devices I hook to this thing, indexing would be a problem. Don't know why I didn't think of that before?

Going to take a while to turn indexing off on all the drives I got. Will get back with you to let you know if it works
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#12
No, not really. As said it could be so many things causing it. Depends on how much is really installed on that XP partition and if you really want to spend the time trying to fix it.

If there is not much data or stuff on it then it might be faster and easier to just move the data and re-install, or at least do some drastic recovery fixes.

May want to look at something like this
How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
or this type of repair
Scannow sfc (System File Checker)
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
24
Location
Somewhere West of Hell
#13
runing sfc now. I use linux 97.4% of the time anyways. I just wanted my trips into windows to be less... aggravating? I think that is the word? I just got everything installed and set up again on this system after I formatted it less then a month ago. I will just do my searches in linux *shrug* Thanx for trying though.

I got to thinking, I was a dick to you earlier. Consider this a little "thank you" for being the better man and not banning me when you saw this post

I noticed you don't have a banner for your site. I threw this together real fast with gimp, more like a proof of concept. If you like it, use it. If not let me know what you want and I will make it for you.

 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#14
Well thanks for the graphic but that would be up to the owner of the site, I just Mod here.

As for the new XP install, I can provide a scripted SystemState backup to run daily or at least a couple times a week that if something like this happened you could do a fast restore of the Registry back to the way it was.

Let me know if interested.