• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Windows xp pro. troubles

Garmak

FPCH Member
Hi there,I'm new to this so forgive me if I'm not very clear when explaining my problem,which is-when I switch off my pc it won't start up again.Someone told me to press F8 and continue from a previous starting point,which I did,but is there any way of fixing this without having to do this?Today it took me half an hour before it finally accepted the F8 button after switching off/on a few times.Any help would be greatly appreciated,thanks.

W

Wolfeymole

Hello Garmak

Welcome to Free PC Help

Accessing Safe Mode by pressing F8 has to be just right or you may encounter a keyboard error.
However you managed to do so, so if you are still having problems you may need to repair the operating system, do you have the XP disk to hand?

Garmak

FPCH Member
Hi Wolfeymole

No I don't have anything with this pc.I bought it off someone so don't have any of the original disks.Is there no way to fix this without them?

Bluesplayer.

FPCH Long Term Member
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
Hi you are shutting down your system correctly..not just pulling the plug?
Sorry had to be asked.
And you are Tapping F8 at startup not just pressing F8?

Seth