• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

wireless network !!!!!

slippyslot

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
5
#1
hi...

going nuts, can not for the life of me set up a wireless network for my pc(xp) and my laptop(vista) i`ve tried all i know but i think my pc does not see my laptop... im not very tech minded so if any one out there knows any thing pls help cos i think i`ve done more harm then good....
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
#3
Do your computers see the Internet? I will assume YES because you didn't complain that they don't. Your complaint is that they don't see each other.

You need to get all machines on the same 'Workgroup'.

On the XP machine: Right-click MY COMPUER; choose PROPERTIES; choose the COMPUTER NAME tab; click the CHANGE button.

On the Vista machine: Right -click COMPUTER; choose PROPERTIES; choose CHANGE SETTINGS - it's down a bit on the left. Under the COMPUTER NAME tab, chick the CHANGE button.

It doesn't matter what WORKGROUP name you choose, but they should be the same. So go ahead and verify they're the same. If they're not, change one to match the other.
 

slippyslot

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
5
#4
HI.. thanks all for ur help.. but a still have problems. i`ve done the network names, checked adapters, all looks ok,
the both of them see and can connect to the internet (im on aol using a netgear router/uk)
on the pc(xp) i have managed to see the laptop(vista) but only on HOC connection, this seems to be the only way my pc can see the laptop, but the laptop still cannot see the pc!!!. but when i click on it it says that my server(admin) does not give me access for this?? is this AOL? i have run the wireless wizard on pc(xp) usind the usb flash and disc wizard to no aveil.
its doing my nut in. would or can i connect by cable, if so wat do i need?
many thanks
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#5
No it's not an AOL thing.

For testing purposes only disable the firewall on both computers and make sure that both computers belong to the same WORKGROUP name and both have different computer names.

Then create or setup an account with the same name and password for both computers, then see if you can see and connect to each other.

Then re-enable your Firewall and we can go from there.
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
#6
This proves that your network is OK. Problem is with user accounts or firewall. Hopefully someone with more experience will chime here.

btw: What is an HOC connection?
 

slippyslot

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
5
#8
lol,, yeah thats it AD-HOC. as i said im not very tech in these things. will try the firewall and account route. wil let u all know how it goes.
p.s. is it ok to turn off my fire wall? the 2 computers run different firewalls , mcafee and norton. windows firewall is off on both. again sorry if i sound not clued up on this.
many thanks
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
#9
An Ad-Hoc connection is OK for connecting computer to computer, but not to Internet. So I see mixed signals here - SS is connecting to Internet from all computers. That indicated an Infrastructure network. What's going on?