• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

wont boot

strikes

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
33
#1
im not sure what to call this but when i turn on my laptop it keeps loading up a grey screen with a blue box in the middle, on the blue box it says "boot device" underneath that it has 4 selections "floppy" "harddisk" "cd-rom" and "PXE",

no matter what i do i cant get it off this screen can some one please tell me where to start
 
W

Wolfeymole

#4
Is this a second hand laptop as seeing the PXE as a boot option signifies a linux boot option over a network?
PXE also could mean that the pc is trying to boot from a rom chip, but that technology is years old.

Give us a more detailed explanation of recently installed programs.
 

strikes

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
33
#5
no it was bought from currys about a year ago, and i dont know what the most recent programme installed is,
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
Hi strikes,

One of the keys should toggle between the choices. Typical keys are the space bar and arrows. See if you can choose the hard disk.

The bottom line however, is the laptop isn't able to boot from the hard drive (your main storage device). For more information and help on that, we would need the make and model number of the laptop.

In the meantime, try the above. If that doesn't work, remove the battery and unplug the power cord. Let it sit like that for an hour, then try the laptop with the power while leaving the battery out.
 

strikes

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
33
#7
the hard disk selection just flicks the screen and goes back the same screen with the 4 selections,

ill try the battery option and come back in an hours time

cheers
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#9
What's the make and model number of the laptop and how old is it?

Also, please keep in mind that the typical cause of your problem is a failed hard drive. Laptop drives have a lifespan of about three years.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#11
Immediately following you pressing the power button, start tapping F2. That should get you into the bios (system setup). Look for an option that says "Boot sequence" or "Boot Priority". Make sure the hard drive is set to boot first. Once that is confirmed, also make sure to save the changes before you exit the bios. See how that works out.
 

strikes

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
33
#12
that seems to have fixed it for now,

as of tomorrow back to trying to get my internet connection working again cheers for now
 

strikes

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
33
#13
ok seems as my laptop has gone wrong again, ive done everything it says above, but now when i start up my laptop a blue screen comes up saying "a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer" and under that it says UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME.

it says something about newly installed hardware or software but ive not installed anything for ages,

what the hell is going wrong
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#15
That error may or not be fixed by the chkdsk /r. If it does, it's only a temporary fix as you're facing imminent hard drive failure.

I'll be back a little later with some other suggestions if no one else posts.
 

strikes

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
33
#16
looked on the microsoft site and it looks very complecated and i think ill leave it to someone who knows what they are doing i think it might be simply to you people in the know but i dont know jack-**** so thank you very much AGAIN for all that have been trying to solve my problem, i will be coming here again if i have any future probs

cheers
dan