• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

XP 202 not working with W7

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
I looked for a printer forum/page but my eyes have let me down. Please move if this is out of place.

SWMBO has a new printer and is gunning for a new desktop. She has passed the XP 202 to me. I have removed the Epson 412 Expression that gave up operating about a month ago (I dunno why) and the XP 202 wont work on my W7 desktop. It says it cannot download a firmware update numbered 51.51.RD17J5 (9.03 Mb). I have downloaded the driver. It had been working quite well, it just stopped. It comes with 3 spare cartons of Epson inks
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim
The drivers for the xp-202 are either 64 bit or 32 bit.
Did you install the correct drivers?

You can download the drivers for Win7 from here - click here
The download will show 32 Bit - select 64 Bit if this is what you have.

Remove the previously installed drivers and download the new drivers - then install.

Give this a try.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks for the reply KenB.
The W7 is 64 bit and I downloaded the 64 bit for W7 although going on the site just now made me use speccy to confirm the 64 bit. It had me down as 32bit.

I did remove all printers from my machine before I downloaded the driver from epson.
I know it prints ok because I was ensuring that all cartridges were down and seated properly when it took off, it printed the Epson status sheet in black and white . I have no idea what I did.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
I said in my post -
The download will show 32 Bit - select 64 Bit if this is what you have.
Did you get your 64 bit driver from the Epson site ?

EDIT:
Sorry - just read that you said you downloaded the drivers from Epson.

I would be inclined to remove the XP-202 drivers .
Instead of downloading just the drivers - download the "Epson Product Setup" and install this.

Make sure that you have 64 bit selected.

It contains the drivers plus other software too.
 
Last edited:

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks for coming back to me on this.

I have vague recollections of something like this happening in the dim and distant past. It was something in the queuing but I cannot remember what it was. It was with the Epson 412 that I have sitting here that also doesn't work. It stopped just after I put in a compatible black compatible cartridge.

When I tried your suggestion I googled the term and arrived at 'Drivers and Utilities Combo Package' which I installed. It went through the package until it gave the message 'Cannot find the printer'.
Incidently the XP202 printer worked fine except for the past week when it was in the other room.
Does this help at all?
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Cannot find the printer'.
Do you have this printer connected by cable ?

printer worked fine except for the past week when it was in the other room.
You moved the printer and from that point it hasn't worked.

Are there any error lights showing on the printer itself - [ red or amber ] ?

Click on "Start Orb" bottom left of screen
Click on Devices and Printers
Locate your printer and right click on it.
Select "Troubleshoot"

What were the results?
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thank you KenB for your response.

I do not have the XP 202 connected by cable, I was expecting it to do its thing via the router.

I did what you said and it found the printer was not being shared by the home network. It 'fixed' this fault and went through a printing process on the computer ( on screen it looked as if it was going to print) but failed to - again.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Can this be connected by cable?
If so - connect it and see if it will print..
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks LenB, I will try to find a lead. If not I will see if I can get one.

Jim
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
OK KenB, i found the lead as it uses the same lead as the epson 412 that I have here which also has a similar problem.
I put the lead into both printer and USB port and it did similar - made all the screen efforts but not on the printer. It showed connection by the de-doink I get when I plug anything in them.
I also went through a re-start on the computer and made the xp202 with the lead the default printer.
Just looked at the printer queue and it listed my 3 attempts there.
I do wish I knew what worked last time. I remember it was something I could do.
Jim
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim

You didn't say if the printer was showing any warning lights [ red / amber ]

If the jobs are showing in the printer queue this indicates that the computer and printer are not communicating.
You know this anyway.

Unplug the cable.

If your router has a WPS button press this. [ it should flash ]
Immediately press the WiFi button on your printer and hold for 3 seconds.

This should sync the two.

Try printing again.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks KenB.

The router has no marked button with WPS on it but there is an on/of button which switches the router off. So I did that.
The wifi light was previously flashing green and when I held the wifi button down it has flashed orange with the green on continuously since.
Jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Now the printer has the green light on continuously and amber light is extinguished.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
The router has no marked button with WPS on it ...
That's a pity.

You say that the WiFi LED is now solid green.
This is what it should be.

Do you have an "Info" button on the printer?
If so - press this.
It should print out a report on the WiFi status.
[make sure your computer is on]
 
Last edited:

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks again KenB.
The green light is still on but I see no info button. I assume it would be on the front along with the others.
Jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
A bit more information is that it scans ok when i press that button and it does a status print when that button is actuated.
If I want, the event button tells me that it cannot communicate with the scanner. I have just switched on my W10 laptop. I will see if that prints (it is up-dating at the moment) - if not can I assume it's the network group?
Jim.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
I thought I would try my W10 laptop and see if it was the network or computer. I now wish I hadn't. It started up-dating right away. After this it entered a loop from which there was no exit!
So I had to switch off! As you do in the wee small hours.
This morning it would not recognize my password. It said put your password changing disk in drive 'D'. I have no drive 'D'. So no help at all. I wonder how the business peeps will manage where they are dependent on their computers to carry out their function

But the XP 202 printer started working by itself via the W7 computer.
I had tried the disk that came with it - and that didn't work. I deleted anything that looked remotely connected to Epson in control panel, and downloaded their driver and associated bits from their site again. I assumed this is what made it work. But I could be wrong :).

The Epson XP 202 is now printing and I have 3 packets of cartridges spare. Hip hip hooray. Do we mark this as now 'Solved'
I am about to try the Epson 412 printer to see if it now works.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim
Nothing succeeds like success :)

Glad it is working for you.

What about your Win 10 machine.
Is that still a problem ?
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi KenB. Thanks for asking. Yes I am completely lost with what to do with the laptop as it was in a loop when I got into it after the download. Then this morning it refused to go past the password input stage. There is no disk facility on the laptop.
I am stuck as you can imagine. How does one get out of this?
Jim
PS A BTW is that the 412 does not work via WiFi but is uncontrollable via USB cable. It is in a loop and will eat paper - as much as is fed in.
Jim.
 
Top Bottom